We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to do once”
Review of Boardwalk

Boardwalk
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“OK to do once”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Boardwalk traverses the marsh to the beach. Nice views but relatively short walk. No railings in places and not the widest of walkways. Quite windy which is refreshing on a hot day but older walkers should take note. The walkway does not extend along the beach. Not the only access to the beach as there is a parking lot (Fee). A couple of port-a-johns are at the lot.

Helpful?
3 Thank Hammbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    108
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corsicana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice walk to the beach”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Boardwalk is an interesting walk over the marsh to the beach. There are two beach areas, one in a small cove with shallow water and over the dune-the beach that faces the ocean. There were many families and kids playing. It wasn't crowded at all, and we were there on a weekend day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DDFAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Scenic walkway”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a 1000 foot boardwalk that crosses the marshes to the beach. Most of the walkway does not have handrails so I can see some people being hesitant to cross. I did cross it on a very windy day and enjoyed the views from both sides. There is a nice beach on the other side which you can drive to if you are afraid to cross by foot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leighann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as enchanting as the outer cape”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I must not like tidal marshes with boardwalks, but even on a sunny day with a modest group of people, I found myself not liking the scene. It seemed a touristy and also swamp-like, with a surprising lack of variety in plants and bushes. Just my honest opinion, which some, perhaps many, will vehemently oppose. If you like the more rugged, ocean atmosphere of the Cape, with it's interesting bushes and plant life and trees, its wind and waves, better to head to the outer Cape.

Another factor is, the Cape is not nearly as enchanting in June as it is in July, and especially, August, when it's hot and humid. The cooler air and water may have played into my perception of the Sandwich boardwalk also. On a hot, muggy day, I imagine it's refreshing to be surrounded by a tidal marsh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ambienceclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, love it!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a really beautiful place. In the beginning, we were on the way to P-Town, but we saw that the riverside is really amazing so we decided to stop in the Sandwich Town. I suggest that people who wants to go to P-Town can visit this place first.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank immai0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing