We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but short”
Review of Boardwalk

Boardwalk
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but short”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My son enjoyed walking over the boardwalk but they should have a separate charge for people that are just walking and not going to the beach for the day. It cost $10 to park and we were back in the car after about 10-15 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaNewport_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    105
    29
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I enjoyed our walk down the boardwalk, the beach itself was clean. We had just stopped there to take the walk down the boardwalk and were disappointed that there was a $10.00 charge for parking. This was the only drawback. It would have been worth it if we had planned to spend the day there. We watched some local children catching crabs on the bridge and many families enjoying the water at this lovely area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful in any season”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are visiting sandwich, take a side trip and walk across the pride of Sandwich - our boardwalk. The boardwalk takes you from the downtown area out over the dunes to the town barrier beach

Free in the off season. If you don't want to pay to park in the summer, park up in the village and walk down through the old town.

The local kids like to splash the tourist by jumping off the bridge as visitors pass by, so time your crossing of the creek so you don't get wet!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank contactjfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“greta for the kids”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

worth the trip over there. fun, pretty, water, beach, boardwalk and more, truly, a summer delight! Jump off during the high tides for fun

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jdcBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting. Boardwalk really cool”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place was really neat. The boardwalk towered over the marsh lands and provided a dry safe place to walk. We kayaked the marshlands and walked the boardwalk. The setting is beautiful with all the dunes. I did have to use the portopotty...had to walk pretty far and was not happy about having to use but it was surprisingly clean, for a standing out in the heat bucket of poo! I think if you have children, beware, or afraid of heights as the boardwalk only has rails at the arched bridges but there are long stretches that are handrailess. I was not bothered but it could be scary for some. Would totally spend more time in this cool setting!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing