We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Cafe Chew

Cafe Chew
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

i love everything about this place. the menu is always changing. the coffee, the sandwiches the salads, the atmosphere OMG I could go on. they have 2 outdoor seating areas, lots of pastries, always busy, and delicious

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    95
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lots of options, great taste”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This cafe is a popular place, but be forewarned that it closes mid-afternoon. There are many creative sandwich options made with quality ingredients, for around $10. It's a smaller space, and often crowded, but there are a few tables outside you can enjoy when the weather's nice. Plenty of parking. Great place to get a quick brunch or lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful experience here”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend, who has celiac's disease and cannot tolerate gluten, asked the propietor if the huevos rancheros came with corn or flour tortillas. He said corn and within the first bite, she questioned him again. He checked the package and sure enough it was flour.

Not only did he ignore us, but he never offered to make even a partial refund or any customer friendly gesture. Is he aware of the real medical risks inherent in food allergies and intolerances? Shouldn't a restaurant owner know about food allergies?

I would strongly caution anyone with food sensitiveness to be aware.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't eat here if you have food allergies or sensitivities”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am visiting a friend who just moved to a nearby town. I arrived at Cafe Chew with an appetite and high hooes for a leisurely breakfast with my friend. As I ordered the huevos rancheros, I informed the owner (who was maning the cash register ) that I have glutn intolerance and needed to be surh the tortillas are corn? He said yes, they are corn. He repeated our order before we left the counter, includin my need for gluten free huevos rancheros. Our breakfast was delivered, I took 1 bite and knew the tortilla was flour. I returned to the counter with the poisoned meal in hand and asked the owner, again, "are these corn or flour". He then checked the package and confirmed my fear: I had consumed a very harmful food. Since Iam also insulin dependent diabetic ( sine age 9) this means dangerously low blood sugars for the next few days and I hope I can drive home safely. The owner never apologized, he did not offer a free coffee or juice. Shame on him.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fufu58
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More than a sandwich in Sandwich !!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent food & funky little place. Mostly organic foods and Fair-Trade coffees. Lots of whole grain choices. A couple of specials daily. Everything is basic, but then they add an ingredient to make it special - like BLT plus avocado and sprouts turns it into a California BLT. Everything is super fresh, prepared the way to ask and all very quickly. Come hungry and be sure the snag a table before you order !! Breakfast & lunch only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fufu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chew also viewed

 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cafe Chew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing