We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local food, great service and decorations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Chew

Cafe Chew
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local food, great service and decorations”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a new gold standard for Sandwich. The food is great, the place is clean and inviting. Service is excellent and personable. Menu is creative, with sufficient vegetarian options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obediah_Damprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    86
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Order inside,. and eat inside or out -- both are nice environments.
Breakfast choices are standard ones plus a little creativity.
Service is great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Cafe Chew”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I (locals) have breakfast here a coulple times a month. The staff is wonderfull and the food is always great. The french toast is amazing. It can be a little crowded in side, but other then that it is the best little cafe in Sandwich MPO.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Sandwich”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is really the best place for lunch in Sandwich. What they have done to the building is simply amazing and their lunch creations are delicious and creative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Coffee, Great Service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cafe Chew is a very good little breakfast and lunch joint in Sandwich, MA. They have a fairly simple menu of breakfast dishes and sandwiches as well as a nice assortment of baked goods and some very tasty coffee. The french toast is some of the best I've had, their bacon and eggs are very tasty and the sandwiches I tried were all very good.

Diners must secure a table before ordering and then place their order at the counter. Drinks are given upon ordering, food is brought to the table when it is ready and tables are bused when diners are finished eating. Like many coffee shop/sandwich joints, they use a tip jar in lieu of leaving tips on the table. Chew has a large and constant flow of diners every day, so this system helps streamline their employees responsibilities and allows a large number of people to eat relatively quickly.

My only complaint was that the restaurant has so many diners and servers constantly moving about to order or refill drinks etc that it is always very crowded and noisy and you are frequently elbow to elbow with other diners. Cafe Chew is also very popular and didn't seem to experience a lull at any point during my three visits so if you are looking for a quiet meal and don't want to be around a large crowd of people, this would not be the place to do so. I must give the Cafe's employees and management credit in that they do not seem to try to hurry customers out in order to make room for incoming diners.

The manager (owner?) was very friendly, and though he never quite got my name right, he remembered where I lived and clearly makes an effort to get to know his customers even though so many come through his door every day.

For anyone visiting Sandwich or driving down 6a, I strongly recommend Cafe Chew for breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cantwellphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chew also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Chew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing