We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place should get 6 stars!!!”
Review of Ice Cream Sandwich

Ice Cream Sandwich
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: The only homemade ice cream shop in Sandwich. Featuring homemade ice cream, frozen yogurt, soft serve, ice cream cakes, sundaes, frappes, smoothies, and ice cream sandwiches!Award WINNING TOP 10 LOBSTER ROLL 2017 All Beef Hot Dogs,Grilled cheese and Captain Parkers Clam Chowdwer
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Probably the best ice cream anywhere! Ice Cream Sandwich is a delightful place - fastidiously clean premises, friendly staff, plenty of seating (in and outside). The ice cream itself is high quality - yes, they even have soft serve, but go for the actual ice cream! The hard ice cream flavors are numerous, and they have weekly special flavors, as well. Our absolute favorite is Lemon Shortbread - pieces of delicious housemade lemon shortbread throughout the lemon ice cream - to die for. The young people at the counters are lovely, and we made our aquaintance with Kevin, who is one of the owners - he is so outgoing and warm - makes you feel like you're the most important customer. Worth making the trip from wherever you are on the Cape!!!! Oh, and their lobster rolls have been voted Best on the Cape for the past 4 years! GO!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond U, Owner at Ice Cream Sandwich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great review. My partner Kevin said what a pleasure it was to meet both of you. So happy your enjoyed our hard work making our own ice cream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 236 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2018

We go every year on our way back from a Cape Cod Memorial Day weekend and this year we got a chance to meet Kevin and Ray. They are so excited about their product (which we already knew was amazing) - they are always improving on their menu options, love listening to customer suggestions and it shows in the quality and friendliness of the staff. Just a great place to go and we learned that they have an award winning lobster roll which we plan to test out next time we are in the neighborhood. Definitely worth making a detour for this quintessential Cape Cod foodie experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond U, Owner at Ice Cream Sandwich, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

It was very nice meeting you. Thank you for the great review. So happy when our customers realize all the hard work we put into our ice cream and food. Hope to see you again real soon. Ray and Kevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Ice cream lover's heaven! Inviting home on a hill remodeled into an ice cream parlor. Indoor and outdoor seating. There really are so many choices it was a tough decision. Our predictable stand bys, Chocolate soft serve cone and chocolate chip ice cream in a sugar cone were delicious! Service was friendly and efficient! Rest rooms were clean.

42  Thank KarenK518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond U, Owner at Ice Cream Sandwich, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you. So happy you enjoyed our ice cream. We have the best soft serve on the cape. We make our own ice cream right here on the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The owners are super kind and friendly! Always informing about new flavors from old recipes passed around. There open for the season now, its a must try when your in sandwich!

Thank Devon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond U, Owner at Ice Cream Sandwich, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Thank you for coming and promoting the shop. Glad u are happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

From the home-made ice cream (we had peanut butter Oreo and Celtic Pride—amazing mint ice cream) to the homemade whipped cream to the atmosphere to the great, bright, summery decor and design of the indoors and porch/deck/patio, this is my favorite ice cream shop on the Cape (and maybe anywhere)!

The whipped cream is also homemade by one of the owners and the one of the owners was there tonight helping to deliver sundaes to tables from the counter (with a big smile and friendly conversation). He really cares about this place and whether people enjoy it.

There are plenty of spots both inside with air conditioning and out on the porch, patio and steps/lawn in front of the building as well as easy parking right in front. I’m sure it’s more packed in the summer, but it’s a fun and happy place just to hang out while waiting for fantastic ice cream. Apparently they are famous for lobster rolls as well!

Thank rbapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond U, Owner at Ice Cream Sandwich, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thank you for great review. We know you can get ice cream anywhere. That is why we put in the extra effort in all we do. We make many of our items from scratch and u can tell the difference. Kevin makes everyone feel welcomed. Something that other ice cream shop don't do. He is out their talking to all the customers. He wants his customers happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice Cream Sandwich also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ice Cream Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing