We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lovely Inn at Sandwich Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Cambridge, MA
1 review
“The lovely Inn at Sandwich Center”
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I booked our Memorial Day weekend stay based on the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor, and I'm so glad I did. The Inn is absolutely charming and the hosts, Jan and Charlie, are very very nice. They were extremely accomodating and gave us lots of personal attention. The meals were delicious, and so were the homemade cookies that were always available. We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — Charming decor and hosts
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gweniecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
216
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Located in the center of the beautiful & historic Cape Cod town of Sandwich, MA, the Inn at Sandwich Center is a perfect spot to renew your soul. Inn-keepers Jan & Charlie run a lovely, meticulously restored Bed & Breakfast. Everything was top notch. From the scrumptious breakfasts, to the homemade chocolate chip cookies, to the warm "southern" hospitality, to the wonderfully adorned rooms, to the helpful site-seeing tips ..... we can't get back fast enough! Perfect!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We spent 2 days with friends at the Inn at Sandwich Center, May 16, 17, 2007. We were warmly welcomed by Jan and Charlie, the owners who are friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. The entire home was immaculate. We stayed in the Robert Morse room which was on the second floor. The staircase is narrow, but our room was very spacious, with a fireplace and a deck. The bathroom is small. There is a window for ventilation and the water in the shower was hot and strong enough for my husband. There were 3 other couples at the Inn while we were there. We all had a lively and enjoyable discussion at breakfast, which was delicious. My husband I have never stayed at Cape Cod before. Since we had only limited time there, we wanted a place that was easy to reach and easy to leave, while allowing us to explore the rest of the Cape with our friends. We were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Inn at Sandwich.

  • Liked — cleanlines
  • Disliked — baathroom size
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2007

This is the most wonderful place I've ever stayed in. I've stayed in B&Bs, inns and hotels around the world and this is by far the most comfortable, beautiful and friendly place I've ever been in. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and helpful. The house itself is very clean, beautifully decorated and modernized, yet retains its country and colonial charm. We loved our room! We stayed in the Robert Morse room, which has a deck and a fireplace (which comes with a log to burn). It was so comfy. Not only is the inn located in the best spot possible (steps from museums, the grist mill and the tea shop), but it's also across the street from Shawme Pond, and we spent days catching a ton of fish there. One of my favorite aspects is that the breakfast is sooooo good every day...Jan in the innkeeper makes something different each day. Oh, and the hottub under the gazebo is fantastic! Seriously, you will adore this place. We plan to go back in the fall and next spring.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Having travelled from Ireland doing a 3 week New England in the Fall trip for our wedding anniversary ,we arrived at the Inn in Sandwich towards the later part of our holiday.

We can safely say it was the best place we stayed in during our trip having stayed in five locations previous to Sandwich. On arrival to be greeted warmly by Jan and Charlie and told to sit down and await fresh home made cookies and tea was a delightful start to our three day stay. We were made feel so much at home and our room on the first floor was a delight overlooking the Glass museum and lovely gardens.

The Inn itself is beautiful and kept immaculately by Jan and Charlie so clean and neat.

Breakfasts were superb and so varied but the fun time we had with Jan and Charlie and other guests at breakfast swapping stories about Ireland and the deep south were hilarious. Every evening when we came home from dinner there were drinks left out for us to have our 'nightcap' which we thought was a lovely touch.

When leaving we were very sad to go and we both got a warm hug from both of them as we moved on to Freehaven our next stop.

You must stay here, it is in our opinion one of the nicest Inns we have stayed in during our trip to New England and we missed Jan and Charlie for quite a while after we left. They are the 'hostesses with the mostest' and we will definitely be back to them on our next trip. Pat and Clodagh.

  • Liked — Confort, cleanliness, and warmth of welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rust Belt of Upstate NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2007

I stayed only one night at the Inn last December, in the off-season. Not only was it a bit more affordable, but all the common rooms were decked out in holiday decor, for an extra-warm atmosphere. And even though the innkeepers were busy with their own holiday plans, they never once put my needs second. Breakfast was delicious. My room was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. Should business bring me to the Cape again, I would definitely stay with Charlie and Jan again.

  • Liked — The personable innkeepers.
  • Disliked — The hot water in the shower took awhile to heat up.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nickicee2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2007

My wife and I enjoy staying at B & B's and have doe so all over the US and Europe. The Inn @ Sandwich has to be one of the best inns we have been to. We enjoyed our week in the summer so much we came back for a long weekend in December.

Jan and Charlie are terrific hosts and the breakfasts are outstanding. They have excellent knowledge of the area and seemed very interested in our experiences in Cape Cod.

The rooms are beautiful and clean and the common areas inviting. A nice touch by the hosts are the home made cookies and brandy that are waiting for you at night when you return to the inn.

We would recommend the Inn to anyone who enjoys the B & B atmosphere and as a good first experience for anyone who has not tried a B & B.

jcscalia-Massapequa, NY

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the inn
  • Disliked — We have nothing but praise
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsMassapequa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
13.8 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center

Property: The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Address: 118 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1828
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Historic B&B located in the heart Sandwich, Cape Cod's oldest and most quaint seaside village. Come enjoy fireplaces, TV, hot tub, spa services, hearty & delicious breakfasts, great service, and many other amenities provided in a warm and inviting environment. Walk to the beach, fine dining, shops, & museums. Easy to daytrip to Nantucket & Martha's Vineyard. Sandwich: a year-round destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing