We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Ranked #2 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2009

It was our first experience in B&B. I can say that it was very pleasant. Jan and Charlie are great innkeepers. We forgot to rent a navigator for our car and got lost and also drived too late. Jan and Charlie helped us by phone how to find them, we were nervous, but they were calm and kind. It was dark and Charlie came out on the road with a flashlight and waited us there. They greeted us very amiable. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty, even delicious. Jan and Charlie gave us a lot of advice where to go, what to see, where to eat and so on. It is very important for foreigners, who are for the first time in the region. The hot tub outside was great. In the evening we had a nice convercation with other guests (with wine, tea and cookies, made by Jan, very tasty!), and it was one more chance for us to know the country more.
Thank You Jan and Charlie!!!
Travelers from Russia.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamiMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Inn was beautifully appointed and maintained. Jan and Charlie are great hosts. We had many memorable conversations. Our room was 'roomy' and the bed was super comfortable. Sandwich never disappoints and remains one of the best destinations on the Cape. Don't miss the glass museum and Hoxie House!

Stayed: July 2009
Thank tjmaroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I called about 10 days befo re our arrival date and they normally require 2 day stay but let us stay for just one nicely night and I believe the Inn was Full. They met our every need and though we had probably the smallest room it was perfect - beautifully decorated dwith all the amenities.
Breakfast was all homemade - rolls, fresh fruit, and a wonderful bread and egg concoction - Delicious!!
Would recommend it with no buts-------------.

Stayed: July 2009
Thank kathisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

As a frequent poster to Trip Advisor I have struggled with this report as it was not a good experience .
The weekend trip started off badly as it took us some 7 hours to travel from our home in New York City to this location in Sandwich Ma. This of course was not the inn's fault but when we called to tell the innkeeper of our problems we were told that we were already late as check in was limited from 3pm to 6pm and we clearly were not going to make it... The tone on the phone was one of annoyance and sort of set the tone for the rest of the weekend. We were told that they were going out for the evening and that we were delaying them from their plans. I apologized but felt like we were not going to be welcome. When we finally arrived we were shown to our room that looked smaller than the web site and to our dismay but not discussed with the innkeeper, the bed was a double bed not a queen as advertised. The inn was clean and the breakfasts were fine.

Originally from Massachusetts, we had been to the Cape many times in the past but never to Sandwich. The town is a sleepy cousin to Falmouth or Hyannnis and the few restaurants in town closed early (9:30). and the pace is more for the senior citizen set. I don't know what we expected but it wasn't this.

Two other incidents caused us some problems. Our room was on the first floor next to the living room and there were no other rooms on that floor. Upon returning from downtown the first night my wife decided to sit in the living room to read late at night (11pm) she was somewhat surprised when the lights automatically went off at 11:00 with a note on the switch "do not turn the lights on".
Our second incident came at check out which was 11am. We were not quite ready and exactly at 11am the innkeeper banged on the door to tell us that we had to get out. So coming and going was not a pleasant experience and our time there was not what the reviews on TA had said but again as a traveling veteran and someone who has stayed in many many beds and breakfasts around the world I have learned that each must make the best of even the worst experiences and for us this was one of the worst.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bilmin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This is our favorite B&B. The Innkeepers, Jan and Charlie are personable, helpful, great in the kitchen and hospitable to the max. Our room was comfortable, well appointed and spotless. The breakfast's were gourmet in quality and in the week we stayed there, no breakfast was repeated. The common areas are comfortable, with wine, tea and cookies being served in the afternoon and cordials after dinner. All the guests really feel at home and there is always lively conversation betwen the guests at the breakfast table, late afternoons and after dinner . Jan and Charlie are the most committed innkeepers we have encountered at any B&B we have stayed (quite a few!). We are looking forward to a repeat stay at The Inn of Sandwich Center our next visit to the Cape!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jrod313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Staying at the INN ,in Sandwich was simply wonderful..This was our 2nd visit here. ..Jan & Charlie make you feel so comfortable and truly special..I highly recommend this very special B&B to everyone...
Looking forward to our next mini vacation at the Inn in Sandwich ...Maybe we will see you there....
Jackie & Mark..

Stayed: July 2009
Thank shotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Inn at Sandwich Center is a definite "do-again"!! Jan and Charlie know how to treat their guests right. The breakfast each morning was OUTSTANDING. I hope you have the baked eggs while you are there. I am adding it to my recipe list for sure. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There were so many nice touches as well (cold drinks, brandy, port and sherry at night along with chocolates, newspaper to read in the a.m., their vast knowledge of what to do while on the Cape). I would highly recommend The Inn to anyone who is looking for a great location to stay in the Sandwich area. Thank You Jan and Charlie for a great 3 days!!!
Chuck and Barb

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GRRAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
4.8 mi away
Spring Garden Inn Motel
Spring Garden Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in East Sandwich
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 7 in Sandwich
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center

Address: 118 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1828
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $194 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Historic B&B located in the heart Sandwich, Cape Cod's oldest and most quaint seaside village. Come enjoy fireplaces, TV, hot tub, spa services, hearty & delicious breakfasts, great service, and many other amenities provided in a warm and inviting environment. Walk to the beach, fine dining, shops, & museums. Easy to daytrip to Nantucket & Martha's Vineyard. Sandwich: a year-round destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing