We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Neck Beach

Ranked #14 of 40 things to do in Sandwich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic stretch of beach on charming Cape Cod is perfect for relaxing, birdwatching and hiking.
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Vast open beach. Great beach combing. Beautiful views. Sandy Neck is a legend. Can't wait to get back for an evening campfire.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    19
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sandy Neck Beach Rocks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

haha, play on words. If you're going to the parking lot part of the beach, bring swim shoes...rocks. But the swimming is great, especially at low tide. If you have 4 wheel drive, don't miss the end where the sand is lovely and the water amazing. Great fishing, and family fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Should be named Horsefly Rock Beach...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

As you turn into Sandy Neck from Route 6A the sites are amazing. Beautiful cottages and sand dunes line the entry road. Unfortunately, it's all downhill from there. This beach for some reason is infested with large bees, horseflies and mosquitoes. DO NOT come here if you have young kids or actually want to swim in the water. The entire beach is lined with large pebbles that will have you screaming if you don't have on thick footwear. I imagine going into labor being less painful than actually trying to walk into the water here. I have been on other rocky Cape beaches(i.e. Corporation Beach) where rockless paths are dug into the water for swimmers but that is not the case here. Seriously, the views around the beach are beautiful but the beach experience itslef is terrible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LVLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yes it is rocky but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We knew it was rocky and there is $15 charge on weekdays, but we choose it for the facilities and what did we find one porta potty with a line. Needless to say we curtailed our beach time and headed back to our motel and sat by the pool. The weather while windy was a perfect beach day not very hot and quite comfortable, the fact that you needed beach shoes to near the water did not bother us, but the fact that there was only one toilet I find nonsensical.

Helpful?
3 Thank Maudeydaudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zero sand, millions of rocks...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Found this beach on Frommers best beaches in the cape, could not be more disappointed! They might as well call it rocky neck beach because there was nothing but rocks!!!! This beach is terrible for young kids as it is difficult to walk on the beach or in the water which is you guessed it rocky!!! Save your $20 and go somewhere else!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Mjshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Neck Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sandy Neck Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing