We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricey to step in the door!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoxie House

Hoxie House
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1637, this is believed to be the oldest house on Cape Cod.
Butler, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little pricey to step in the door!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stopped to look at it. One of my friends wanted a pamphlet from inside the door before we decided to pay the price to go in. She was told she had to pay to STEP in the door! We lost interest with that. We took a few pictures and left.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Konna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First rate experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The historic Hoxie house is small but full of the most interesting things. The two ladies who guide you around are very enthusiastic and knowledgable. Excellent value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank martynandmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun guides for a beautiful, old home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I stopped here on our honeymoon and were glad we did. The two women working at the time led a spirited tour of the house and explained everything in the house and what it was for. In addition to a fun tour, the guides were very accommodating for photos and information about the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see while you're on the Cape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

An inexpensive, beautiful must see. This sight was so incredible! I'm 16 and it kept my attention for sure! It's so nice to see such a cool part of history. The stories that we're told from the Hoxie House defiantly painted an interesting picture in my head (a good one). The staff defiantly loves their job and love sharing this wonderful piece of history. I can't wait to come back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinsley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for the right crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Took my girlfriend's parents to see the Hoxie House, although it was fun and interesting i couldn't help but think it would be hard sell for any kids.

The old house really is fascinating and in a beautiful spot but the guides are what really sell the experience. They do a great job of delivering a fun commentary on what life was like growing up in the olden days. They explained how hard it was to make a living showing the various tools and furniture from the time period and where many old sayings we still use to this day came from.

Ex "tax the daylights out of you", didn't realize the king actually taxed the amount of daylight your windows allowed into your home back then.

I would recommend the Hoxie House to any history buffs traveling on the cape, stop by for 30 minutes or so and i think you will be glad you did. It is a great snap shot into a different time period.

It is a very small fee to see the house ($6) which most likely just goes towards upkeep of a historical landmark.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoxie House also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hoxie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing