We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Historical Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoxie House

Hoxie House
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1637, this is believed to be the oldest house on Cape Cod.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick Historical Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hoxie House is a quick 5-10 minute visit. There is not much to see in the house but the guides are very informative. Not really worth the $4 admission price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our tours guides Irene and Bob were a wealth of knowledge. Learned so much from them about the history of the house as well as the life of the Puritans and Quakers. Gave of lots of incite into life of the 17 century. Even though this does not look like much it is a must see especially for children and teens, to see how ppl had to live at that time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank upwardbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I enjoyed visiting this little house in Sandwich and learned so many interesting details about what life was like for the early settlers in the Cape.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizaville, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great history lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A well preserved/restored house from the 1600's, 2 wonderful tour guides explained everything about the house and you really can imagine exactly how tough life was for the early settlers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting and Fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped in last week. We were the only ones at the moment and got a great tour, easily worth the $4. The guide and staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable. Lots of fun and humor during the tour, the guide was great! Not only did they know the history of the house, but quite a bit about the history of the early settlers of the area. The house itself was fascinating, as well as the many artifacts within. We're glad we stopped by and would recommend it for anyone interested in the history of the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coop P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoxie House also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hoxie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing