We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of history!”
Review of Hoxie House

Hoxie House
Ranked #6 of 44 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1637, this is believed to be the oldest house on Cape Cod.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of history!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped to see this house on a whim... and we are really happy we did. Our guide through the house, Irene, provided us with not only interesting little facts regarding the house, but also about other things such as explanations behind many of the expressions we use today, the common forms of challenges of the time period, etc... I highly recommend this stop, but be warned, be prepared to spend a good 30 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watkins Glen
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tiny Piece of Cape History”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely 17th century saltbox house. Interpreters give an excellent, very informative tour. You can purchase a ticket that admits you to several historical attractions in Sandwich. Great to give kids a taste of colonial history without wearing them out with too much at once. For adults, Dunbar's Tea Room, which is across the street, is a must-visit, if you enjoy elegant food in genteel surroundings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shoeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Architectural Gem”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This small historic house presents a fascinating look at the way folks lived in colonial Massachusetts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“visitor”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

History, that it has been preserved and gives insight into my town! Renovations were well done. Thanks for fighting for it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Want to know about life in the colonies in the early 1700's? This place is amazing and informative. Many Sandwich families hail from the Hoxie line, and this is the family homestead.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoxie House also viewed

 

Been to Hoxie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing