We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Need to time your visit right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
249 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Need to time your visit right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just visited the Heritage in the second week of June and unfortunately the gardens were a bit of a bust as the rhododendrons just finished blooming. A few shrubs were still flowering, but for the most part it was just wilted brown petals at this point. It's clear that if you visit when they're in full bloom it should be a spectacular sight. The gardens are still vast and nicely maintained, but there just wasn't much color (beyond the abundant green) to be seen right now. Our visit was salvaged to some degree by the fact that we enjoyed the car and carousel exhibits, but the $15 entry fee feels a bit steep if you don't get the full garden experience with it. That's not their fault, of course. The shrubs just flower when they flower. But ideally you want to visit in late May through about the first week of June.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    134
    26
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rhododendrons and flowering trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited just as the Rhododendrons and flowering trees (which are amazing) were in bloom - lovely!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveandJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Rhodedendrom splendor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Try to visit at the end of may/beginning of June for the magnificent rhodedendrons of all colors. Other times of the year there are daylilies, etc, but nothing quite as magnificent.
On hot days, it can get stifling on the unpaved trails, but the open areas allow nice breezes. Other than the car museum, the other buildings (carousel, special exhibits) don't take much time to go through but offer some relief from the heat.
Not much for young children or older teens here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“The perfect time of year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the perfect time of year to visit the Heritage Museums and Gardens. I had previously rated it after a visit in October which was less than ideal. Now, however, it is a real treat. Their famous rhododendrons are in full bloom, and they are glorious to behold. You can walk through the extensive property, but there are also jitneys that can transport you from exhibit to exhibit, or just take a loop around to view the whole area. We stopped at the carousel, a must-do for children and adults alike (and it is free -- donations gratefully accepted). The car museum had temporarily replaced its usual exhibit for one of mid-century concept cars. Very cool! We passed on going to the other museums as we had seen them so recently (in October), but nevertheless it was a most enjoyable afternoon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sundancekid330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The gardens were gorgeous with a beautiful variety of trees and flowers. The car museum has an exhibit until Sept. of concept cars that never made production. Very interesting the way car engineers and designers think. The docent was very knowledgable and a car buff as is my husband. could have talked all day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing