We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip....”

Heritage Museums & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Small-Group Day Trip to Plymouth and Cape Cod from Boston
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Marion ,Mass.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip....”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The scenery is breathtaking... something for everyone.
and Hidden Hollow is a great place for your young children to play,discover and create.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    138
    26
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Highly recommend bringing your family here! Lots of stuff to see and do! Antique cars, mazes, beautiful grounds...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtney Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Been going to Sandwich for years and finally stopped in to see this place...wonderful grounds, car museum, carousel, just a great place to walk around.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Blossoms in Massachusetts”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We Southerners tend to think was have some sort of edge with beautiful and whimsical flower gardens. My husband Jerry and I were thrilled with our day spent within the magnificent Heritage Gardens and Museum in Sandwich, MA.
We were there last July and the Cape Cod weather was mild with a warm breeze as we enjoyed both the stunning flowers and winding paths. Every turn has a new theme or a new color or just any number of little surprises. The museum filled with antique automobiles is a must even for us girls.
I would also like to note that both the gardens and museums were completely handicap friendly. I use a walker and had no problems. Also worth note is their signature sandwich in the outdoor garden cafe. Fresh baked bread spread with cream cheese and local fresh cranberry sauce and then loaded with wonderful baked turkey, dried cranberries, lettuce and almonds. Oh, my. They also have fresh lemonade.
When rushing to get to the beaches of Cape Cod, don't pass up this little treasure tucked away in Sandwich.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing day”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to the Heritage Museum & Gardens this past Fall and enjoyed a beautiful day outside and inside. Outside there are peaceful walks along paved walkways bordered by wonderful variations of plant life and vibrant flowers - a horticulturists playground. You can choose to ride if you need to, as there is an "opened" vehicle that will take you to whatever stop on the grounds that you want to see.
One of the stops that I refer to is the "round barn" - a replica of Shaker ingenuity. Inside there are always ever changing exhibits on a yearly basis. This past year they had a tribute to Norman Rockwell. But, always are the vintage cars that this building houses. A must see for avid old car lovers!
The Museum is for the young and old as the museum has many things to see including a Wind Mill, an interesting walking labyrinth that takes you a long ways in a minimum amount of space. A new favorite for the young (and old I might add) is Hidden Hollows - which contains things for the kids to do and a huge tree house that is simple to reach and then once there, view over the sight. Many people were taking turns getting their picture taken as one would be up in the tree house waving and the other would take the picture from far below.
There are many more things to do, but, everyone likes to ride the free Carousel housed inside the Art Museum.
Check out their website at www.heritagemuseumsandgardens.org. The museum is located in the oldest village on the Cape, Sandwich, Massachusetts, a lovely place to visit and sight see.
A note for avid car buffs - this year the Museum will have historical concept cars designed over the years, plus concept cars with a look into our future.
Take your kids and have a good old family time - we need more of these!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mag542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing