We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit”

Heritage Museums & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Small-Group Day Trip to Plymouth and Cape Cod from Boston
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Groton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Heritage Garden was a lovely place to visit. The car museum was very cool (my hubby loved it), the small art museum was fantastic. It was very focused on folk art. The gardens were very large, clean, full of rhodedendrens blossomimg. I was expecting more formal gardens to walk through, slightly dissaponted by that. The small cafe that served lunch was out of this world, food was fabulous and we spent less then 15$ for two for lunch. The gift shop is the reason I'm giving 4/5 stars.It was so expensive that I went to the gift shop @ the glass museum down the road to get a souvenier !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen331966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    144
    28
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure in Sandwich, Mass.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We decided to check out the Heritage Museum and Gardens and were not disappointed. The flowers were in bloom and the automotive museum was outstanding. There is a casual cafe in the garden with picnic benches and a nice menu of sandwiches. Our experience was made even more special by the special Norman Rockwell exhibit and the restored carousel. The Rockwell exhibit was outstanding (paintings & Photographs) and everyone could ride on the historic Carousel. The attendants at the carousel even graciously took pictures as needed. A great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank burrdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and more”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The gounds are planted so different flowers bloom at different times, so I wish we could go again. The car museum wasn't expansive but a great collection. The carousel is included in your admission. It has lots of trails and interactive thing for the kids. Very pretty and historical. The $15 per adult fee may make you think twice, but we felt it was worth it. They have limited food and drinks, but you can bring your own.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank robin131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful grounds, auto museum, hiking trails. Nice little cafe- great for kids.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank baddogBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Go when the rhododendrons are in bloom--the nature walk through them is like being in a dream world.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing