We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in the day.....”

Sandwich Glass Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum details the history of the Boston and Sandwich Glass Company.
Maine
Level Contributor
248 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Back in the day.....”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I had seen glass blowing at a craft fair a long time ago and here was the chance to learn more about some of the things we take for granted. $6 admission is well worth it just for the demonstration alone. Our female glassblower informed us she's been at this off and on for 10 years. She chose to form a pumpkin and the entire process was explained in an easily understood dialogue. Once the demonstration was over we wandered around the very extensive museum. Interesting, historical and well worth visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gsg1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    178
    46
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice stop and interesting museum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here to check it out and for $5.00 thought we got our moneys worth. The glass story is interesting and the collections they have are really nice. What we absolutely loved was the glass blowing demonstration. It was very fun to watch a goblet being made. They have a nice gift store too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very entertaining, low key museum”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This attraction is a great spot for a mixed age group on vacation. Both my girls (age 5 and 8) and my elderly parents enjoyed the exhibits immensely. They offer the kids a scavenger hunt and a prize for completing the hunt. The glass making demonstration is very educational and fascinating to watch. The general exhibits offer a view into colonial life by displaying glass artifacts that were ornate for the time but also had curious uses. We spent about 90 minutes in here. It was a great indoor activity for an outdoor vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sandwich Glass Museum”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Quite interesting and informative about a part of the legacy of Cape Cod. Well worth the stop. Particularly enjoyed the glass making/blowing demonstration and the welcome video.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterboro, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Historically Informative and Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The introductory video that shows every half hour shows how the development of the glass industry of Boston and Sandwich on Cape Cod was a direct result of England's severe taxation. We learned so much from the video that all the historical displays were more meaningful. Then we watched an actual demo of glass blowing to create a dish that was fascinating, even when the effort failed, we still learned the reality of how difficult an art it is!

There's a fun scavenger hunt that had children excitedly searching for items. We are glad we went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Perestroika13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Glass Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sandwich Glass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing