We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be Great For Prime Ribs”
Review of Hungry Traveler

Hungry Traveler
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Used to be Great For Prime Ribs”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant over the past 20 years - when we were up at Salisbury Beach.

We were there tonight (August 10, 2013) and were disappointed. The restaurant may be under new management; and they seem to have forgotten how to slow roast a standing prime rib. In the past, if you asked for rare, that's what you got. We asked for rare and got medium - and were told they didn;t have anything rarer. We could have lived with that, except the price of the king cut prime rib was $26.99 - and it wasn't as thick as we got in years past.

We were really disappointed - and I doubt very much if we'll ever return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil10468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    53
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Clean reasonable very good”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for clean , reasonable and good food this is the place. This is not a chain! The food is fresh great portions , menu, very diverse , salad bar, great prime rib. I was there for lunch today. When I am any where near the area I make it a point.
Wish they were closer to my home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lxrxaxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Hungry Traveler--a welcoming, beach road stop!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

After church, on our way home to our Hampton cottage, hubby + I enjoyed a comfy booth, great service, and mouth-watering breakfasts! The Hungry Traveler, a fav, for comfort food, and desserts, pleased us-once again--with healthy and good-sized breakfasts. We ordered egg omeletttes, with fresh veggies, feta cheese, sides of crispy potatoes, watermelon, cinnamon-raisin toast,and freshly-brewed coffee, with frequent "splashes," to refill. Grease-free omelettes, crispy veggies, and grated cheese--wonderful beginning to our Sunday morning!
...Friendly inside, ample parking outside, access road to NH + MA seashore sites and beautiful beaches!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Waited for over an hour for our meal and when it came out, we had to wait longer still for the baked potato. Our room was full of screeching children that neither parents or management did anything about. Several parties requested table changes because of them. Waitresses in new room were ignoring us, one was rude. Waitress Kerri was the only one who smiled and was great! She came to find us after after all her customers left because of the kids. Good thing she did because none of the other waitresses gave us the time of day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over Priced for Average Food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped at the Hungry Traveler on the way home from the beach after driving past the restaurant for years and noticing that parking lot was always packed. We were promptly greeted at the door and were seated immediately which was great because as the night wore on the restaurant became very, very busy. Our server promptly came to our table and throughout our stay was very attentive and accommodating. As it was our first time, it took us awhile to decide what we wanted to order and as a result she had to make several trips back to the table. We started off with Baked Stuffed Mushrooms which were suppose to include chunks of lobsters and mushrooms. What we got was a big crock of sliced mushrooms sitting on a bed of very dry stuffing, a couple nuggets of lobster meat all covered with melted cheese. It was virtually tasteless and was a disappointing start. We debated about leaving at that point because meal prices were in the mid to high 20's range and we didn't want to have an expensive, mediocre meal. We ended up staying as one of the members of our party was starving and didn't want to wait any longer for dinner. We decided to split a seafood platter (27.99 plus plate split charge of 1.50 plus an upcharge for onion rings) which included a salad bar. The salad bar was small but everything was very fresh and the bar was immaculate. Our order came and it was a large platter of lightly battered fried clams, scallops, shrimp, and haddock, plus onion rings. All the seafood was fresh and the batter was not greasy at all but again no flavor.
Looking around at other diners meals it looked like the prime rib and fried fish plates were popular items but I did notice most people seasoning their meals. The atmosphere was a throw back to the 70's but very clean. Service was very good even as the restaurant became busier. I

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marneyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hungry Traveler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing