We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a camp groung NOT a Hotel come on”

Black Bear Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Campground
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we been camping for 40yrs so i'm not new at this we had the site #16 and #15 two RV's and the pools was right in front of us it's a place to cool off, it nice come on poeple grow up or get a hotel room your camping for God sakes , on a scale from 1 to 10 we give it a 8 hey camping is what you make it and we had a great time here with our grandkids they love it the pool and play ground then we want to salisbury beach a 15 mim, drive boy this is a great camp ground. We come next year the Merrill's and the Ellis;s

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We read the reviews, and thought, how bad could it really be? Well, it really was that bad. The camp sites are lined up about 15 feet away, and there is absolutely no privacy. The "2 pools" advertised are really kiddie pools. The site was not cleaned before we arrived, chalk all over the table, and left on the ground, trash like burned up soda cans were everywhere. We were aggressively approached by "management" at dinner time to move visitor vehicles off the site (which the office failed to mention needed to be done) and were totally rude when checking to make sure everyone had signed in and paid their $10 visitor fee- which of course they had. We wanted to wait to move cars after we ate dinner- but that was unacceptable for the "managers". We were disrespected, and we will certainly NOT be back. Try somewhere else, Salisbury has many more campgrounds to choose from.

Room Tip: No site is a god site, all are very close, not many trees to shade from other people- wide open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ktrott711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Dirty washrooms with constantly clogged toilets in both men's and women's washrooms. Owner don't care much about your comfort. The worst thing was that we got a two couples with 7 or 8 kids arrive next to our site late in the evening. Parrents got heavily drunk and loaded with some drugs and they argued until 4:30 am. Yes 4:30 am. The owners where nowehre to be found when we tryied to get their attention to the the problem at around midnight. When cops showed up they calmed those drunks a bit but not for long and after they left the party continued. Again we tried to a hold of owners but no one answer the phone or knocking at their doors and windows.
At the end several families around had a mostly sleepless night. In the morning after complaints of several families the drunken folks were removed. Not speedy enough to save the bad taste. Some people ended up actually leaving earlier with disgust.
I would never stay at this campground again, manly because how the owners handled (or rather not handled) the situation, but also because the lack of cleanness, weird rules which are not even enforced and all the noises coming from two busy highways.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We chose this campground because of the proximity to Hampton Beach. Unfortunately, we were also nestled in between the highway and a busy road. We could hear cars passing all night and sirens and motorcycles. The short 6 mile drive to Hampton Beach was not short considering the extreme amount of traffic. It took us 2 hours to get into the beach, which was less time then it took us to drive there from CT.

When we arrived we had no problem checking in and we went to our site. It was a tent site and there was NO WAY we could fit our 20X15 tent on it without being in the road. We went to the office and the lady was very nice and went through and circled all the sites that were available so we could choose. Unfortunately none were that big and they were all on top of each other and not one site had privacy. There were minimal amount of trees. We made the poor choice of choosing an end lot as to not be stuck between people but that also came with a giant light for the road and our tent was fully lit all night long. I would think they would get shut off when "quiet time" begins and those needing to walk would use flash lights.

Another downfall would be the sites are all gravel and wood chips. There is no grass to set up your tent on so wearing sandals is a huge hassle when kicking up gravel in your shoes. The playground is large but it's not an industrial playground, it's a bunch of swing sets made for home use placed in their park. The swimming pools are very small and when we went one was closed due to cloudiness.

On our last morning, we wanted to sit and relax and eat before packing up but they decided to start rototilling the park. The staff members were swearing while doing so and we had two children under 3 clearly walking feet from them.

Overall, I would not recommend this campground. Choose something farther from the beach, the traffic will be the same and it will be quieter and hopefully you won't have to sleep on rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notjstanothrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We really did not like the staff overthere. They don`t bother with customer satisfaction. I booked online. The night before leaving, I called to make sure I could set up a second tent on my site for my son and 2 friends. The lady that answer told me there would be no problem. Once there, the lady told me that the clerk that answered me made a mistake. I told her that they should keep their word, that it was not my mistake. No way, she made me pay for an extra site. I was really frustrated. The day after, I asked the same ``sweet heart`` if she could plug my cell at the front desk to be recharged. Answer, no ! I had to plug it in the landromat hopping it would still be there when ready. A poor place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yamavite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The campground wasn't the worst, but we would stay there again. When you check in (yes.. it's always pleasant to be greeting by the office staff smoking outside...) you receive a big list of rules....which would be great if they enforced them.
First let me say that because of it's location and close proximity to I95, the campground itself is noisy with road noise especially at night. The second day of our trip, we came back to the camp to find a giant "Tent City" next to our site (The campground had a one tent per site rule). Turned out to be group of preteen hockey players and their parents who had booked at least the six sites next to us. There were at least 25 people. They were quite loud and obnoxious. No clue when it came to camp ground etiquette. They ran around screaming until at least midnight (thank god it starting pouring rain). When we called to complain at 10:15pm, no one answered the office phone. I left a message hoping that it would not happen again the next night, but the same thing happened. This time someone was in the office when I called. A staff member quickly arrived in a golf cart , and I assumed the obnoxious group were told that it was "quiet time", but they never quieted down, and the golf cart never came back. I just could not believe that a campground would allow this noisy partying to occur, it was unacceptable...and of course the giant group started breaking down their giant tent city at 6am the next morning...again with loud banging, yelling and screaming. We camp all the time, and we've never experienced anything like it.
The restrooms weren't very clean, and the toilets were always clogged in both bathrooms. There seemed to be a lot of seasonal RV residents who probably use their own facilities. So they probably don't maintain there restrooms as often as most.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katethehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank coolmat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Campground

Address: 54 Main St, Salisbury, MA 01952-1202
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Salisbury
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Black Bear Campground Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing