We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Fooled by the Exterior”
Review of Sagamore Inn

Sagamore Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Sagamore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled by the Exterior”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a plain (but wonderful) lunch today at the Sagamore. Started with fish soup that was loaded with fish and set the table for the fish and chips to follow. Service was excellent. Highly recommend for a casual meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarehamPunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I always try to stop by here when we stay in Sandwich. We made it for two dinners while we were in Sandwich for a long weekend. I had the salmon the first night and swordfish the second time. The fish was cooked perfectly both times. My wife stuck with her favorite both times - Italian. Both of her meals were also very good. We had Linda as our waitress the first time and she was great. She talked about the history of the Inn over the years which we did find fascinating.

On the weekend, you need to plan to get there early. We were surprised how soon it filled up. We were very glad to see all the activity.

It has my recommendation! We expect to go back the next time we visit Sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ra4gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Down Home Food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

They have many Italian dishes, plenty of food at reasonable prices. The restaurant is family owned and run, right on Route 6A. I did have steamers, which I love, and they have salads and other specialties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwartow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had been wanting to try this place for literally years but with so many great places closer to where we live in the mid-cape area, we just never got around to it. Then friends of ours from Falmouth wanted to meet somewhere halfway and suggested this place. They love it. We didn't. It has it's charm - circa 1956 Capey atmosphere. The service was OK, though I had to practically beg for water - she kept forgetting it. The noise in the place was enough to blow your head off. I could not hear either of the men who were sitting right beside me! Granted, I am hard of hearing but even my husband commented on how uncomfortably loud it was.

The food - at least mine - was boring. We ordered a fried calamari appetizer which was rather bland. There were deep fried jalapeno pepper rings mixed in, which we found out the hard way. Under all that batter it was hard to tell what was calamari and what was pepper at first. The dipping sauce, I guess, was Italian. It was tomato sauce anyway. Two of our party ordered fish and chips and they said it was excellent. The servings were huge. I sampled a fry and it was quite tasty. One of the men ordered the seafood platter which was the biggest one I have ever seen (and for the price, it should have been!) He was very pleased with his selection. Not wanting a huge plate of fried food (I thought this place was an Italian restaurant before we arrived), I ordered the Chicken Cacciatore. Now my grandmother was from the old country and made this all the time so maybe I am spoiled but this was no more cacciatore than it was ice cream. It was a few chunks of boneless, skinless chicken with diced tomatoes and way under-cooked large pieces of peppers and onions - and not many of those. Almost no discernible seasoning. I have never had something less like a stew. I will say the penne I had with it was perfectly cooked but there wasn't enough sauce to really enjoy it. The other couple ordered Grapenut pudding for dessert and left most of it.

I was shocked when we got the bill. For fish and chips?? Yikes! I just read someone else's review and they said there was an 18% gratuity added which I must have missed - so the waitress made herself a nearly 40% tip and, of course, didn't mention it.

My husband and I agreed - we won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Librarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best fried clams on the cape”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The only seafood that I like is fried clams. I have tried many restaurants on the cape which is famous for seafood and the best that I have found is at the Sagamore Inn. It has a great atmosphere and everyone there is very friendly. The baked stuffed seafood plate got rave reviews from others at the table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwb6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagamore Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sagamore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing