We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
29
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
6
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We came to stay at the Maple House Bed & Breakfast after searching for a cosy B&B.
We found a warm host (Rebecca) and a lovely house. A historical house with a lovely yard habitat by some chickens, sheep and an energetic dog that provided our daughters tons of fun.
The breakfast is freshly cooked and tasty and tea and coffee are available throughout the day. We got some interesting recommendations for nearby travelling that we tried and highly recommend.
The house is large enough to host several guests and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Rebecca is a lovely person and no doubt she loves what she is doing.
We really look forward to visiting Rebecca again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank tal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Outside is misleading. The place is a little off the beaten path but The room was cute, the owner was very accommodating and the food was good! She knew we were racing the next morning and asked us what we’d like to eat before we left. Pleasantly surprised!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Carolee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

I chose Maple House B&B as a stopover on our way through from Lake Placid to Martha's Vineyard. Rebecca advised that we should eat before we arrived as there is nothing in Rowe, so we did just that and arrived after dark, and it is very rural. Having said that, Rebecca is a fine host and made us welcome and, even though the rooms available are on the top floor, it is a charming, characterful and comfortable and familiar-feeling B&B that made us feel immediately at home! The beds are comfortable and the facilities more than adequate, but would suggest that young children would need to be supervised with the proximity of stairs to the rooms.
Breakfast was, dare I say, epic, with nicely prepared and tasty hot option, in our case, a huge breakfast omelette with mushrooms and crispy bacon, plus muffins, bread and all the usual offerings, freshly made and presented. Rebecca had to leave us early to return her charming mother to the nearest station, but the other guests, (Adam & Maria from Ohio) were engaging and interesting people to talk with as we did about a multitude of issues. I truly hope they enjoyed our company as much as we did theirs!
Rebecca, thank you for sharing your home with us, I hope we cleared up to your satisfaction as it was the least we could do. We would stay again without hesitation and would encourage anyone else to do so.

Room tip: All on the top floor
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

We had a delicious stay the the Maple House. Its quiet, its out of the way. You can relax in the garden, watch the sheep and chickens, or walk and explore.
You do not come here for shopping or restaurants, as there are none. In fact, the downside is that you have to plan your day around being somewhere else to get lunch or dinner, since there is nothing sold in the village.
But the highlight for us was access to the town park. You can use it as a guest of the BB. We loved the swimming and stayed at the beach as long as we could. We also hiked in the hills above the lake.
Had a good sleep after all the exercise.
Breakfast was excellent.
Downside- unreliable cell service in area.
Will be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

I love the village of Rowe. In fact this trip was to view a house as a summer retreat from super hot Arizona(we are in the process of buying it - yay!).
The Maple House is a beautiful old farm house which actually was a guest house way back when it was built. I love local history, and there are plenty of magazines and books on the history of this little town to borrow. There are also games and cards available in the guest living room. For a town that has sketchy (at best) cell service and extremely slow dial up connections, getting back to actually playing a game with my husband was a nice way to spend a couple of rainy nights.
Our room (as all guest rooms) was up on the third floor. Consisting of two twin beds pushed together, with a futon-like sofa and chair, it was plenty roomy for us. We had our own assigned bathroom in the center hall which was partitioned off from other rooms and baths by a curtain. It was well stocked with towels and toiletries.
Breakfast each morning was different and well prepared. Rebecca knows a lot of the same folks I know in Rowe, and she is very approachable to speak with about what is happening in the town, places to eat (there are no restaurants in Rowe - or gas stations, or stores!), and places to visit. We took her advice, but were primarily there to look at property. If you have kids who never spent time on a farm, the sheep will interest them. There are nice areas to sit outside and their friendly dog will bring you a stick or ball to play fetch....just tell him "game over" or you could be busy for hours!
Definitely worth a trip to just relax and enjoy the country. I'm looking forward to meeting up with Rebecca and her husband again.

Room tip: Since guest rooms are on the third floor, pack a smaller bag to take up leaving your big suitcase in the car!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews