We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for a group!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linden Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Tree Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a group!”
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The Linden Tree Inn with Tobey and John is a perfect place to have a group in for an easy, relaxing week of cameraderie.

We have enjoyed the Inn so much that it is now an annual event for us -- a lovely time for a bunch of scrapbookers to meet friends we've made online.

Gracious hosts, lovely rooms, excellent mattresses (if I sleep they must be marvelous!), friendly staff, and very accommodating as to hours and dietary needs.

A charming B&B, close to town, close to beach -- many 'local' places to visit. As far as I'm concerned, there is no "off season" when visiting this quaint town and the Linden Tree Inn.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Arrived in Rockport by train in the pouring rain. Called the inn and John immediately offered to pick us up, even though it turned out the inn was close by. It's run by very nice people, exactly what you hope for in a B&B.

I would describe this inn as comfortable and homey rather than elegant. That's reflected in the price, which is very reasonable. We were the only guests the Friday after Thanksgiving, so I'm sure our room rate barely paid for heating the house during that cold weekend! (It did stop raining, though.)

Linden Tree is very close to the beach and all of Rockport's cute shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Tobey and John have a lovely B & B. The beds are great - huge and firm so I didn't suffer with a bad back like I usually do. Our room was wonderful - large with 2 chairs to read in, a wonderful view of the Halloween graveyard opposite and a super relaxed atmosphere.
Tobey's breakfasts were substantial - scrambled egg on muffins were my favourite. The coffee was excellent - it's so frequently weak or burnt in America but this was good and strong. Tobey also loves PG Tips so we were able to have a decent cup of tea every night before bed!
Tobey loves Halloween and decorated the house beautifully and even gave all 4 of us in our party a bag of Halloween candy as a surprise gift - as well as all the cookies and candy permanently put out for guests.Very intersting, friendly and generous hosts - I would love to go back there.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattingen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

After looking for a place to stay for 8 people in high season we found this wonderful Inn. The Innkeepers made us feel like family ! We had two rooms in the main building and a little apartment for our kids in the cottage. Our rooms were very clean with comfortable beds.
The Inn is very charming. It is located on a side street - pretty quiet, hardly any street noise - and just a 5 minute walk away from the next beach and Rockport "downtown" with lots of cute little shops and some nice restaurants.
Breakfast was delicious and Tobey's homemade scones are to die for! Combined with frittata, fresh fruit and yogurt it made a great breakfast, which we had outside on the patio in the shade of the old Linden Tree.
The innkeepers Tobey and John are very friendly and gracious and were very helpful with suggestions and directions.
We recommend a trip to Crane`s Beach, a wonderful long strech of white sand and dunes. Great for relaxing and swimming.

  • Liked — very friendly innkeeper, rooms and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schnuppibaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2008

A lovely, warm atmospere greeted us. The Innkeepers made us feel like family ! Our room was very clean with a really comfortable bed and a nice reading area. We both thought Tobey's homemade scones for breakfast were The Ultimate! My husband, a big breakfast kind of guy, indulged in the asparagus frittata, fresh fruit, and yogurt as well. We liked having teas and cold drinks available along with cookies and the tempting candy dishes scattered throughout the Inn. There was plenty of information readily available for "What to do?" queries and the innkeepers were also very helpful with suggestions and directions.

  • Liked — Willingness of Innkeepers to accomodate special requests and the welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — An ocean view would be nice but it is just down the street!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fscgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This probably should be listed under the "B&B" category,

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be quite ordinary. Elderly guests should be aware that there is a very steep staircase to the second and third floors.

I didn't really like having to wait until 8:30 or later for breakfast. Guests are told they can have French-press coffee before 8:30, but by the time I came down for some at 7:15, the pot was empty.

For the cost, I would have expected a more bountiful breakfast. The scones were excellent, but, other than toast and cereal, there was just scrambled eggs one morning and a spinach fritatta the second morning.

If we return to Cape Ann, we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Convenient location + ample parking (important consideration here)
  • Disliked — Rather uncomfortable bed and a ho-hum breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BeaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Just a note, we had a booked a room here for 2+ months in advance. On the same day (within 5 hours) we needed to cancel the reservation due to a family issue. They refunded the 50% down they had already put on the card, but would not waive their $25 "processing" fee when I asked. I realize this is stated on their website so I did not argue it, but would think that cancelling this far in advance and within hours of making the initial reservation, there would have been some leeway. A $5 or even $10 fee under the circumstances would have been reasonable, $25 seems a little steep. So, as an FYI, make sure you will not be changing your reservation under any circumstances or be prepared to pay $25.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank hoopgril54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Tree Inn

Property: Linden Tree Inn
Address: 26 King St, Rockport, MA 01966-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 1850 Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn with 12 guest rooms in the main house, all individually decorated, all our rooms have private baths, located just 800 feet from the beach, restaurants, and over 100 unique shops. The Linden Tree has been in continuous use as an inn since the 1920's. Our Carriage House features 4 large modern rooms with small efficiency kitchenettes. Located just one hour from Boston by car or train. Enjoy our full breakfast with Tobey's famous scones. We are a non-smoking inn for your comfort. Experience for yourself our Anglo-American hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Linden Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing