We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pleasant Street Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linden Tree Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sally Webster Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beauport Hotel Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$415
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel(Essex)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
131
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandcaptain's quartersfire pitmermaid roomcookiesrhubarb juicesleep numberchallah bread french toastbeach geardelicious breakfastshops and restaurantsbearskin neckscreened in porcheach afternoonplace to staygreat showeran amazing cook
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 134 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Changing Tides B&B is roomy, clean, and delightful. Our room (the Mermaid Suite) was spacious and had lots of natural light, as well as excellent light-blocking screens. The shower has super-comfortable river stone underfoot... loved it! ...and great water pressure. The bed has technology which allows for adjusted firmness on each side; we slept VERY well, and the bedding is fresh and inviting. Since the B&B has only a few guest rooms, we were able to use the screened in porch, as well as the family room and Netflix in the evenings. Keurig coffee maker, kettle, and a plethora of teas and coffees are available at all times. We very much enjoyed the quiet. Stephanie and Jay are lovely. They were very much available, and also were taking cues from how sociable the guests seemed to want to be. We had some enjoyable conversations. My husband and I agreed that they are ideal B&B hosts. (It should be noted that my husband generally prefers the anonymity of hotels... chuckle.) Stephanie greeted us at the arranged time, showed us around, and provided homemade, warm cookies! She also made amazing breakfasts with fresh ingredients each morning- a different menu each day.The house is a short walking distance to Bearskin Neck in Rockport.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! It was a pleasure hosting you both.
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This was my first time ever staying at a B&B so I wasn't sure what to expect. That said, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Changing Tides B&B was someone's private home, huge and beautiful with a number of comfortable sitting areas for reading, watching television or visiting with other residents as well as the Hosts, Stephanie and Jay.

Breakfast is at 8:30 each morning and is geared towards preferences you indicate before your stay; this means if you are vegan or vegetarian, just say the word and you will have that type of cuisine. We enjoyed corn fritters, breakfast burritos and ham & Swiss crepes, just to name a few yummy dishes.

Our room was the Captain's Quarters which faces the street. We loved our firm queen sized bed, the two skylights and a roomy walk-in closet and the bathroom was just outside with everything we would need to stay refreshed and clean. Downstairs, there was a Keurig coffee and tea maker on hand as well as home-made cookies each afternoon to make sure we didn't stay too skinny :-) but, when on vacation, I tend to let that obsession go by the wayside!

You will not be disappointed if you like an immaculate home with comfortable furnishings, breakfasts that are nothing like fast food, and being only a 5 minute walk from the shops and restaurants of downtown Rockport. We especially liked Brackett's for its great chowder and yummy spinach salad with strawberries and pecans, a lighter meal that also featured an awesome ocean view.

You can't go wrong with Changing Tides; just be prepared to rest, relax, EAT and enjoy the company of the friendly hosts and your fellow travelers!

Room Tip: This is a private home and all three room choices appear to be quite comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cyn8cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Cyndia,
Thank you for the lovely review. t was a pleasure hosting you both.
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

Stephanie is one of the kindest Airbnb hosts that I've had the pleasure of working with. The house and bedroom are beautiful and clean and there's so much natural light. She made us breakfast each morning we were in Rockport, and she is truly an amazing chef. The house is essentially in the center of Rockport, close to the beach and restaurants, and the garden in the back is a great perk.

Room Tip: breakfast, garden, central
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

The food was excellent! Stephanie is a wonderful cook My sister and I choose to eat gluten free and Stephanie was more than willing to accommodate us. Every evening she made sure there were some warm (gluten free) cookies in our room to greet us. The backyard was set up so comfortably. There were hanging hammock chairs that hung off an arbor in the yard where you could just sit and relax and talk or if you wanted Stephanie's husband Jay would start the fire pit for you in the evening. The house was a quick walk downhill to all the shops on the main drag in Rockport. I recommended this Bed & Breakfast to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lemongingertea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

From clean, cozy, beautifully-appointed rooms and a veritable oasis of a yard to some of the best home cooking I've had, Stephanie and Jay's B&B hits a high note every step of the way. This will be my go-to place to stay in Rockport from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 843Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews