We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location however.......”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The rooms could use some major updating.

The furniture in our room had definitely seen better days........the velor fabric chairs were very worn on the arms and seats plus there was evidence of a cigarette burn in one. The bed was the absolute worse bed I had ever slept in ~ seriously!! Husband referred to it as a straw bed with a cardboard top and really that is pretty much what it felt like and every little movement made the most loudest creeks. The flat screen TV was pretty much the newest thing in our room.

Staff was pretty nice most of the time, especially the dining crew, who went out of their ways to make our breakfast pleasant. We did not have an opportunity to eat dinner there as the restaurant was closed.

The grounds are spectacular and I think that with some upgrading to the rooms (or at least our room) it would make staying here so much more quaint.

Parking can be tricky here as you more than likely will have to park across and up the street from the Inn due to very limited parking around the Inn and to the fact that the few spots at the Inn are reserved for dining guests. Your car is not in a security area so it's park at your own discretion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeDeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Yankee Clipper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 238 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn over Labor Day weekend and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to stay. Our room, Neptune's Car, had the most amazing views! We felt like we were on a boat! What a treat to sit in the room and just enjoy the ocean breeze and the views. Our room was in the Quarterdeck building which was fine with us as it seemed quieter. We did have some noisy neighbors above us one night--I 'm pretty sure they brought their pet elephant with them and told him to run on a treadmill above our heads. Other than that, it was quiet.

Now the stay here includes, "breakfast". Breakfast was between 8-11am during our stay. We arrived to the dining room before 10am one day and there was nothing left except some soggy pancakes. My husband got some of the last cold scrambled eggs, but everything else was empty and they had no plans to replenish it either because we asked. I munched on a small box of frosted wheats with my coffee (no mugs either) and I had a soggy pancake with some sad looking fruit. I did mention to the waitress that I was surprised with more than an hour to go for breakfast they had basically stopped cooking. Even more surprising though was the waitress brought over our tab to show us that our breakfast was all included in the cost of our stay, but otherwise it was $34! I laughed at that because she obviously gave that to us so she could get a tip---but she didn't do anything. We had to get our own food and drinks and ask for forks and mugs. Dining is not their strong point--look elsewhere for that.

The grounds of the Yankee Clipper are wonderful and if you stay here you should set aside some time to wander and take in the views. This is a place to relax and de-stress. I think we will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We had a superior room with a great discount; it had all the windows (huge !) overlooking the ocean, it was very clean, the bathroom was in perfect condition and a good size ; very important : it was soooooooooo quiet !... We stayed with three young children and it was just right; we had a king bed for us and a sofa + a cot for the children (for no additional cost). breakfast was included in the price and was very good (although service was minimal). The swimming pool is just right, (the towels are so plush!) and we had it all to ourselves for a whole afternoon, quite a luxury. The location of the hotel makes it very special ; on the cliffs, overlooking the ocean, and farther the village of Rockport. It is about 20 minutes walking distance from the village of Rockport and we enjoyed this short hike. it was a great discovery, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

My dh and I came to Rockport and stayed at Yankee Clipper Inn. It was a quaint and wonderful Inn. We stayed at the Red Jacket room. This room had a beautiful view of the ocean and the gorgeous property. But the best part of the room was the three season porch. When we arrived the weather was rather cold but we could still enjoy the view and feel of the ocean from the porch. The staff was kind and appropriately stand-offish. They didnt bother you unless you asked for help. My dh wanted directions to an attraction and they searched the web for it, mapquested it and gave us the directions. The breakfast was good. Its not the quality of a bed and breakfast, but it did the trick. I highly recommend the Inn over any other place in Rockport.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

The only thing the Yankee Clipper has going for itself is the view. Undoubtably a beautiful view. Too bad the management can't seem to make the place worth staying in. Our room; which was supposedly the best one they have was miseable. The heat/ac didn't work correctly, the shower was either scauding hot or ice cold, service was non-existent, the room smelled funny, the matress was horribly unconfortable, and it always seemed as if elephants were staying above us. A real shame, the place could be worth something with deacent management.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pookyjen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My husband and I are not to be considered world travelers. Over the past 15 years we have taken several cruses, visited Alaska, England, Irland, Scotland, and have visited much of the US. Our faveriate is the east coast which we visit often in the fall.

We like to stay at vintage B&B's. Homes with a history and antique furnishings. The Yankee Clipper is all of this and more. The home was built in the 20's. The rooms face the ocean with large windows and some with sun rooms.

After checking in we left for a lobster supper right up the road. Came back with a bottle of wine and dessert. Watched the sun set from a table and great chairs set up in the window. As it got dark you could see the different light houses and hear the sounds of the ocean. It was the most romantic and calming time we have ever spent. We slept with the windows open and woke to the sunrise. It was like sleeping right on the water.

The grounds are beautiful. A painter or writer could not want a better place to be for inspiration.

Breakfast was prepared and served with perfection. Coffee, tea, several juices, dry fruit, fresh fruit, cereal, yougart, rolls were all set out for us to choose. In addition was a breakfast of choice. Pancakes, eggs any way, sausage, bacon, french toast etc. All great.

After breakfast we asked to see some of the other rooms, all have beautiful furnature and views. We walked the grounds and took pictures, did not want to leave.

The staff is all "hand picked". The inn keeper was a delight. Will plan to stay longer on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank southerngirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Having viewed the website for the inn, I was prepared for a rather "quaint-yet-elegant" experience. In full disclosure, we selected among the least expensive rooms offered. What we ended up with was far from even those expectations!

Let me say that the staff was WONDERFUL! We encountered not a single act of rudeness or unfriendliness during our stay. In fact, the young lady who checked us in noted that we hadn't been given our AAA discount and promptly recalculated our stay with the discount included. The breakfast was better than most offered at B&B's. It was a refreshing change to be able to order a cooked, hearty breakfast and still have the option of cereal or fresh fruit. The service area was lovely, on the veranda overlooking the sea. Portions were generous and the service was friendly.

Now....our room was EXTREMELY tiny (especially the bath). It had a rather pungent, bad smell. The furniture was badly marred and the towel rack kept coming loose from the bathroom door. In the closet, an empty space indicated that an iron was "supposed" to be provided, but wasn't. Upon opening the sliding door to the outdoor balcony, it was clear that the only "lock" was a metal bar between the door frame and the door itself. Once on the balcony, a dangerous (unmarked) step caused both me and my partner to stumble more than once! The balcony itself seemed "askew" and "weak"...almost frightening that it wouldn't support much more weight than we applied to it! Once we sat outside, our view consisted of neighbor's backyards, a cupola in bad need of painting and repair, and a tiny slice of ocean. The cheap air conditioning unit mounted in our room was filthy on the outside. (I wanted to take pictures of the room from outside, but refrained because I found it "embarrasing").

On the plus side, the room appeared quite clean, and the bed was very comfortable; in fact, we had some of the most restful sleep we've experienced in some time! The neighborhood is very quiet, and the nice ocean breeze and rolling waves allowed us to open our windows and just bask in the quiet evening tranquility.

In a nutshell, the Yankee Clipper Inn was a major disappointment. What a shame, considering the service and friendliness of the staff! PLEASE! Get it together, folks! You are sitting on a wonderful piece of property! Please make us want to come back again!!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank MrMobile50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $166 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing