We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn during a weekend in March. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room (Ariel) was very relaxing. We enjoyed the views from the room and the surrounding area. Mike, the innkeeper, was super nice and super helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review the inn on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I truly hope you get a chance to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    56
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
143
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The views were fantastic an the location was great. The gentleman who runs the inn (I think his name was Mike) was really friendly and nice, but didn't quite know when to stop. He also was really pushing us to do a tripadvisor review, which is super counter productive. The waffles were fantastic, but the rest of the breakfast was clearly pre-made and reheated. We got an upgrade to our room since we were so off-season, which was really nice, and the bed was glorious, but the rest of the room was just okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your room and view. I apologize if you felt my conversation with you was over the top or too much! The hot part of the breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon, and Belgian Waffles are made fresh to order. To say I am proud of the product, service, and place that I live in would be an understatement!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked 5 of the 8 rooms at the Yankee Clipper and could not have made a better decision. It was like spending the weekend at home. The rooms were spacious and all had beautiful views of the ocean. We congregated down in the breakfast and living area as if it was our own home. Mike, the caretaker could not have been more hospitable. He made great recommendations for meals and outings. Rockport was absolutely beautiful and we took a trip into Salem which was and easy drive for the day. It was a great weekend...everything I expected and more!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell the trip advisor world about your group stay. It was wonderful to work with and meet your group and by the end of the stay feel like old friends. I hope you get a chance to come back and visit Salem and the Yankee Clipper again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Yankee Clipper is such an amazing place to stay. When we arrived we were welcomed by the most friendly sincere man Mike. He was so welcoming and informative about the Inn and surrounding areas as well as restaurants. The house is situated right on the water and had amazing views. The breakfast had so much to offer and was served in such a personalized manor. I just can't say enough about the Yankee Clipper and Mike. What a lovely experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I am so glad you had a chance to stay with us here at the Yankee Clipper. Thanks for the nice statements. My staff and I try to treat every guest like we would want to be treated and I have a wonderful staff. I hope you get a chance to visit the North Shore again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We wanted to get away from the city and stay in a quiet place by the ocean for the weekend. This was the perfect spot. When I booked the room I didn't realize that there was an incredible large sunroom with the most beautiful view of the ocean. There was a comfortable day bed, tables, rocking chairs, lamps, and enough room to create a relaxed space. It was very peaceful and quiet and the only thing we heard was the ocean lulling us to sleep and the birds singing with the sunrise. For lunch we drove five minutes into the center of Rockport, got fresh seafood for take out, and returned to our room to eat it on the porch that connected to the sunroom. This was another pleasant surprise. It was secluded, relaxing, and private: exactly what we wanted! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Jasanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for reviewing the Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much and the staff and I very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn a few weekends ago for a quick trip out of the city. The atmosphere in Rockport, Gloucester and at the Inn is very relaxing and well worth it! We had a great stay in a room with a really nice ocean view that felt secluded. The amenities were very nice, comfortable and cozy. Mike was very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Yankee Clipper Inn for your next trip to this area!

Room Tip: Since it was our second stay, I know that the JFK room is really nice. Any room with windows to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I hope you get a chance to stay in Flying Cloud your next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful night at the Yankee Clipper in with my wife. We wanted to get out of the city and we have stayed here before and loved it! After an early dinner at Duckworth Bistro in Gloucester (Best spot in Cape Ann area) we headed to the Inn to relax, watch some March Madness and listen to the waves crash on to the shore. The views and scenery is amazing. It almost feels like you are on a private island. The room was very clean and updated it had a bigger flat screen TV (with cable) than I have at home. In the morning we were served a fantastic breakfast and coffee to fuel us up before we took the short walk into town to check out the shops. Overall, the location, staff, and history of the building make the Clipper a must stay on Cape Ann. You gotta love Rockport and the Yankee Clipper Inn.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eamon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as your first. Rockport is just starting to open for season and the spring is definitely starting.. The nice breakfast with made to order Belgian Waffles and scrambled eggs definitely helps our guests get ready and go explore! The staff and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
335 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 24 in Rockport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing