We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thing gone bad”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good thing gone bad”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed here twice. Our first visit in November we stayed in Ariel. We enjoyed the inn's location (close to my parents), and had taken a liking to Mike, the manager as he had been very helpful to us in locating a restaurant that could provide dinner delivery for my ailing parents.

At the end of December, we needed to return to Rockport and called Mike to see if we could get a room at the lat minute.

Mike offered us a choice of two rooms. We asked him to recommend one of the two and he recommended Sea Witch. The price he quoted us was about $40 a day more than if we booked online, but we did not want to quibble, and booked our room with him on the phone.

When we arrived we were initially disappointed to discover that Sea Witch was nowhere near as well maintained as Ariel. The paint was peeling in the bath and the linens were... well, just not standard hotel linens. Instead of crisp white sheets, they were well worn green cotton sheets with some pilling. My wife found the comforter and blanket so "well worn" that we ended up purchasing a new one at Shaw's.

But what really upset us was the construction going on next door. They were drilling into the granite cliffs and blasting no more than a hundred feet from the room and at the same level as the room.

Mike had not warned of this in any way when we booked. We felt betrayed. We could not imagine how he could have booked us into that room - at full rates - without even a warning to us that we might be disturbed by the construction that started at 8 in the morning and went on all day every one of the days that we stayed there.

We were so upset by this that we did not even want to discuss it with him. We wanted to cool off before even thinking about having a talk.

But things got worse. While my wife was having breakfast, Mike came to the table and started a discussion. Now this is a nice enough gesture, and part of why we had taken a liking to him in the first place. However while he was talking to her, he reached up under his shirt and scratched his belly. My wife was quite upset at this.

We were very disappointed that what had started out as a good relationship in November turned sour so quickly in December.

Some might say that we should have voiced our dissatisfaction to management while we were there. We feel that it is not our responsibility to ensure that we get service and value that delights us.

It is the hotel's job to ensure that are delighted with the service and value. If we are dissatisfied and take the time to discuss that with management, we are doing them a favour.

The reason why we did not do the Yankee Clipper Inn management the favour of discussing our dissatisfaction is because as I said before, we felt betrayed by having been charged full rates for a room that we considered sub-standard in every way.

To summarize:
1) We made a visit in November, enjoyed the location, room (Ariel) and the management.
2) We returned in December to a more expensive room than Ariel, found it in worse repair, and with a tremendous nuisance factor of construction taking place next door. (see photos below taken Jan 30th as construction continues).
3) We felt betrayed by the fact that no warning was given to us when we booked that the construction noise would be a nuisance.
4) We feel that some of the manager's behaviour was unprofessional
5) We do not feel like it is our responsibility to give anyone a second chance. Second chances are earned, not owed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are less likely to experience unpleasant noise from the basting and construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wassermana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    56
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
143
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Almost 50 years ago, after we were first married, my husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn of Rockport. We treasured our time spent there and were always determined to return. Time passes and, somehow, after 50 years we still hadn't made it back. Our five daughters decided it was time and bought us a gift certificate for our 50th Anniversary. This time, our stay at the Yankee Clipper Inn was just as cherished!! The views are spectacular, to say the least! And that's just the outside. Inside, the rooms and decor ooze charm and elegance. Unfortunately, they just don't make inns like this anymore. The beautiful woodwork, the thought and care put forth into each room's decor, the food, the personal attention...these details can only be found at an inn the caliber of Yankee Clipper.

We thank you, Mike, for our making this stay just as memorable and special as our last stay. Your personal touches put the icing on our cake! Rockport is a gem of a destination and the Yankee Clipper is the perfect spot for soaking in the town. And Mike, you are truly the best!!!!

It will not take us 50 years to return next time.

With fond memories & happy hearts, Sandy & Frank -- Hermitage, PA

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineM1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please don't make it 50 more years before you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this establishment. From start to finish it was a disaster. There currently is major construction occurring on the adjacent property. Don't expect to have a quiet morning as the work starts promptly at 8 in the morning. Between the heavy machinery and the dynamite......I believe that tells that story.(Please note that at no point when booking the hotel with the management direct were we informed that this construction was occurring.) The accommodations are very, very rundown. The bedding is old and worn. The bathroom was run down with the paint peeling off the ceiling. The curtains in the room were threadbare with holes. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years we were truly disappointed given the price that we paid. If you are expecting a charming B&B you will not find it here. Truly do NOT recommend this place. NOT worth the money!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review us and I'm very sorry that the work on the property next door disturbed your stay, However maybe you could of mentioned that during your 4 night stay in December 2013 rather then writing a review essentially 45 days later. Other than one night during your stay you could of requested a room change and mentioned any of the numerous issues you claim to unsatisfactory in your room. You elected not to even though I checked with you daily on how your stay was! The true facts are as followed:

1. This was your second visit to the inn (stayed in November 2013 and you were so happy after the 1st visit, you actually brought the staff a gift with you from Canada. Why if you were so bitterly unhappy did you stay a 2nd time just one month later?

2. The service you received was much better than reviewed! Your first trip the staff and I spent 2-3 hours helping you with logistics with family and getting them prepared for Christmas and the staff made recommendations of food delivery options and other items.

3. Housekeeping did a favorable job on your room. The bedding package and cleanliness were very good. You fail to mention that my housekeeper almost got stuck by your hypo-dermic needles and had to clean up your blood in the bathroom due to your unsafety and uncleanliness with your sharps!

The true facts are that if you mentioned anything to any member of the staff who you knew well from the amount of time you spent with us, any or all of us this could of been rectified besides the construction noise. So truthfully your complaint is about the construction which hasn't occurred since January 3, 2014. I am truly sorry about that but the Inn doesn't control what happens outside the inn and if you were this unhappy we could of relocated you somewhere else. Again, thanks for the review however full of inaccurate information it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was snowing when we arrived, and the snowdrift covering the beach, gazebo and rocks was beautiful. Easy to warm up with tea and coffee from the Keurig and nap on the comfortable bed with warm blankets. Breakfast is great, and Mike is a very accommodating host. They have a space heater in case the dining room - a wall of lovely windows - gets a bit chillier. Definitely a wonderful escape close to Boston.

Room Tip: The Groupon rate covers a Standard Room without an ocean view. But it was a nice, comfortable room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I hope the two of you get a chance to return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravena, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Yankee Clipper several times and always love the spectacular views,superb accommodations and welcoming staff. It was a great get-away and we look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for your great review. I hope you were able to locate the awesome bathroom products you enjoyed here at the Inn. My staff and I look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My sister and I shared the Ariel Suite and were amazed by the terrific view! Manager Mike was consistently helpful and friendly, and his dining recommendations were spot-on. The room was clean, spacious, and very well appointed. Our weekend breakfast of waffle, egg, and bacon was just enough to start our day. There is construction next door, to be fair to those looking for complete solitude, just ask Mike what stage its in and he will be very honest. This area is beautiful all year, even when shops are on winter holiday, we highly recommend a trip to Halibut Park and dinner at Latitude!

Room Tip: Ariel's Queen Bed and Twin Bed were very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us here at the Inn. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope you get a chance to return very soon. At this time the construction has stopped as of January 3, 2014 just to give you an update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

October trips to Rockport and The Yankee Clipper Inn were an annual blessing for us until life circumstances intervened. Good thing perhaps as word around the web was that the Inn had fallen on hard times.

Well no longer!

We returned this year to find this venerable Inn in under new management, meticulously restored and spearheaded by General Manager Mike Barnhard.

Improvements are everywhere, the mood is festive and always accommodating.

As expected with a building erected in the late 1920's, each room has its own wonderful eccentricities, and specific charms, so there's something here for everyone.

Mr. Barnhard and his staff have worked their magic spectacularly well here, bringing each room into the 21st century while taking extreme care to remain true to their unique spirit and qualities. No cookie-cutter approach here; balancing between preservation of culture and history and technological improvements is always a difficult one. Mr. Barnhard and his staff have quite simply nailed it bang on!

One thing that hasn't changed over the years - THAT VIEW. Simply unbeatable!!!

We look forward to starting a new tradition of returning the The Clipper every year - and perhaps not just in October.

Thanks for a perfect, wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCTHuskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you your review and your kind words. I really love to hear the old stories about the Inn form my returning guests. I have been here as the General manager of the Inn for 2 years now and intend to be here for many more to come. the splendor of this beautiful location and the restoring the past has been my staff and my priority here and its nice that former guests recognize that. Thanks again and I hope you get a chance to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
335 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing