We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm in a beautiful setting”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I brought my mom to the inn for her birthday, and feel like we made memories to last a lifetime. The inn reminds us of our family cottage in northern Maine, with the beautiful, old-fashioned adornments of a classic New England coastal home. There are wooden moldings throughout the lobby, with lovely glass fixtures and tasteful details that feel both cozy and refined. And the setting on a secluded hill overlooking the sea couldn't be more beautiful.

Mike, the innkeeper, was very attentive and accommodating; it seems that he is not at all tired of dealing with visitor's varied requests, the way some innkeepers seem exasperated or just wanting to give the minimum. Mike seems genuinely passionate about the property and happy to share it with others, while at the same time not being intrusive.

My singular piece of (minor) feedback is that there are some things that could use replacing or upgrading, such as our curtains that had some small rust stains on them and the fact that our sliding doors going out to the porch didn't have a screen door to enjoy the evening breeze through. But other than that, the carpets were obviously newly cleaned, and the duvets were up-to-date and fresh. The gardens were beautiful, and again, reminded us of my grandmother's old New England gardens- both rustic and elegant.

We will definitely return to the Yankee Clipper, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review. I appreciate your honesty and enjoyed meeting both of you very much. I hope you both get a chance to come back and visit real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Yankee Clipper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent one night at the Yankee Clipper Inn as a get-away midweek. The room was ready early so we were able to register hours before the regular time, and the room was also upgraded! Beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean and Rockport, with lobster boats coming close to the hotel to get their bounty. Breakfast was a great treat, homemade by Mike the Magnificant (he really is!). The pool was refreshing after walking around all day. Lots of places on the premises to sit and look out over the ocean. Overall, it was a great place to stay - close enough to town, but far enough away from the sounds of traffic.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Volunteer" - highly recommended!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 980dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to place a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our salt water pool and were able to accommodate your early check in request. Please come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the inn. The room was comfortable and clean. It is a beautiful three story home with a lot of character. The view is the most impressive aspect of the inn as it overlooks Rockport. The inn is located a short walk (about 1 mile) from Rockport which is slightly downhill into town and uphill back. We enjoyed walking into town for dinner.

One aspect that could be improved was the breakfast. It consisted of hard-boiled eggs and waffles with fresh fruit. Nothing wrong with it but it was the same both days and there weren't any other choices. If you care about a more full-featured breakfast this isn't for you.

Overall, I'd recommend. The room was comfortable, the service excellent. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Rockport closes down at 8PM. If you want to eat later you'll need to go to Gloucester.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just spent one night for our 25th Anniversary and what a wonderful place. Very peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful views and benches in the garden to sit on. Gazebo on the rock's edge overlooking the ocean is lovely. We stayed in the Ariel which was a huge room with spectacular views. Mike, the innkeeper was very hospitable and friendly. He gave us menus and recommendations for dining since we had never been to Rockport before. My husband wasn't too sure about staying at an Inn but I think he's sold - he thought it was a fabulous experience. Hope to return with our boys and do a whale watch next time. We would not hesitate to recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bjb1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first experience of smaller inns/Bed and Breakfasts in the US and we loved it. The ladies looking after us could not have been more helpful and attentive. The inn has a stunning location overlooking the ocean. Book with the inn directly to make sure your room has an ocean view: ours didn't and we were disappointed, but it was entirely our own fault. You still get fantastic views from the breakfast room and garden. It is an easy 20 minute stroll into Rockport and there is so much to see and do around the area. A really relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just checked out of the Yankee Clipper Inn on Monday, and already made a second reservation for the summer. It was that special. I went in three of the rooms, all that I saw had their own charms.  I was in the Volunteer, Flying Cloud, and Lightning.  I saw the MOST spectacular sunrise while at the Inn! I cannot wait to go in the summer to walk the grounds.  Mike the manager here is great to chat with. The breakfast room is pretty cute too, overlooking the ocean and the grounds. Nice area to sit in. The living room/common area is pretty, too.  

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank KarenDeGennaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I escaped for an overnight in March. It was just right for a relaxing dinner and short recharge away from the demands of home and work. Despite the cold, we were amazed at the gorgeous views from our room with an amazing deck, as well as the crisp views in the morning at the continental breakfast. The decor is charming and welcoming, and you are definetly part of something there. Mike, the inn keeper, keeps you feeling comfortable and relaxed. The pressure is off , and you can keep in simple or run into Rockport center. No stuffiness, but still a perfect example of the New England experience.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is amazing. It even has a sun room with water views off of it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $166 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing