We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but not the last!”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A creaky floor, a worn banister and Belgian waffles... I thought I was at grandma's and it was PERFECT!!! My wife and I went there for a weekend get-a-way. The location and view were outstanding. We had a wonderful time shopping in Rockport, exploring Gloucester, and soaking in the scenery.
The best part was working with Mike, the manager. He was attentive to every detail. From making the reservation to taking farewell photos for us, he was available 24/7.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROC5535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Of the several anniversaries we have spent here the 39th was the best. Mike went out of his way to accommodate us and great restaurant recommendations. Very relaxing way to spend 4-5 days. Inn still has it's charm with great views and ocean breezes. Good to be back at Rockport and Gloucester. Good shopping and great food.

Thanks again Mike for letting us borrow your camera.
Coleen as well.

Room Tip: Couldn't ask for a better room. Splurge a little and check out the Flying Cloud. Can't beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

It was great to have you return after a few years away from the Yankee Clipper. We hope to you return back real soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Yankee Clipper the weekend of October 12th 2012. Hidden jewel. We loved the welcoming feel, the creaky old floors, the privacy, the views and we will be back. We took a virtual tour before coming and can honestly say that it was true to form.
Mike let us know that anything we needed, call anytime.
It was so nice to see the sunset and the sunrise over the water all experienced by just setting up our rocking chairs in the room. This room Red Jacket had a beautiful sun porch that led out to a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We could not have asked for a better view. Hated to leave that porch.
We will surely be back again. Great getaway and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Just take the virtual tour online before you book and you will find the room that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myadventures10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a fantastic weekend. I hope you get a chance to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had our wedding at the Yankee Clipper Inn this past summer and we can't say enough good things about the staff. Mike, the Innkeeper was helpful and gracious the whole way through, giving us plenty of options for our budget range. He saw our wedding through all the way to the morning after. After we were done we felt like Mike was practically part of the family!

So, rating for the staff: 5 stars or more

As for the place itself:

The grounds are beautiful and so are the views. The inside lobby is absolutely gorgeous and old fashioned as well with a lot of nice mahogany. The rooms are clean and respectable and we slept very comfortably after our celebration.

What sold us on having our wedding there was the banquet room which opens up onto a patio with an amazing view and the ability to walk around the beautiful grounds. The banquet room is a little rough around the edges on the inside, but it's nothing that took away for our wedding experience, especially for the price for a place with such an amazing view.

Another person mentioned this in the reviews, but I think that if the Yankee Clipper gets a restaurant eventually it could be quite an amazing experience to stay there because it's such a cool old house.

Rating for the building itself: 4 stars, however the staff was so great the overall stays at 5!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It was a great pleasure to have you both at the Inn. I hope to see you back for your anniversaries real soon.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have never stayed at such a welcoming place! Mike was absolutely a dream! Just one example, I wanted to take some live lobsters home for my family, not only did mike give me a cooler he even called ahead with my order on a sunday morning and they had everything ready for me!!! I truely enjoyed our stay and will definately be back!! Its beautiful!!!! Im thinking my parents could renew their vows on their 50th wedding anniversary on the gorgeous grounds! It is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlnz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

It was my staff and my pleasure to have to have you at the Yankee Clipper. Keep us in my mind for the family reunion next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed in the volonteer suite at Yankee Clipper Inn twice this year and we are looking forward to going back again. We fell in love with breathtaking views of the Atlantic and the charming atmosphere of this hidden treasure. Small steps away from a cliff side gazebo where you can meet the sunrise. This place is full of small details, for one, the pool was refreshing like the ocean, I did t realize it was a salt pool, it was a nice touch. Secondly, a get away is a get away, there is only ocean and landscape, we sat in many different places and it felt like we were in a many different places. And we were greeted by a gentleman like he was welcoming us into his own house. Thanks Mike.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashulkin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

SAVE YOUR MONEY and go somewhere else!!! I was there one night and needed a place nearby for a wedding the next day. I was so disappointed starting with my phone call inquiry. I asked about price, then told the manager I would have to call back, to which he replied abruptly, that price was only good for twenty minutes.That should have been my clue to move on. The room was dirty, the bedding was gold polyester pilled sheets, the rug was very stained, as was the bathroom floor. The Inn, as well as my room had a very unpleasant odor. Breakfast was less than what I've had at a chain hotel, although the woman was very pleasant. I struggled with my luggage, as the manager just kept talking about orienting me to the hotel, until I asked for assistance. The setting is lovely, but I know there are many other choices, if it' s a view someone is looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pac123888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the property, but to be fair I am to going to respond to your claims. The reason you had to be called back by the manager is you wanted a cheap rate and an upgrade which we offered you a $50 discount and an upgraded oceanfront room and after all that you had to call other people to check to see if that was alright when you were the only person staying the room! I could only keep that great rate offer on the table for 20 minutes on a sure to be sold out night which it turned out to be. It sounds like great customer service to me. On arrival I assisted you with your bags up to the 3rd floor and heard nothing but compliments from you. On your departure I apologize that I was unable to assist you with your bag, but all staff was busy taking care of guests with breakfast. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
253 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $147 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing