We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and serene.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and serene.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very happy to return to the place where we were married years ago, to celebrate our anniversary. Stayed in the same room, the Sovereign of the seas, with a private deck and ocean views. The grounds are beautiful and inviting. Plenty of seating about the property to just sit, relax and enjoy the sounds and the views of the ocean. Take a swim in the salt water pool. Or take a leisurely walk to the town center, sidewalks all the way! The staff welcomed us. Their hospitality was top rate. Thank you Mike for making our celebration special!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

George Washington slept here, on the same mattress I did last weekend, luckily it was a suite so I got up and slept on the couch in the middle of the night because my back and shoulders hurt.
The rest of the experience was wonderful as it has been in the past.
Unsurpassed beauty and serenity, very helpful staff, the water in the pool was a perfect temperature.
Close to town and far enough away to feel removed from the hustle and bustle of life.
Don't miss the million dollar sunsets of the Lobster Pool

Room Tip: room with its own deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noel_nowicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've been going to the Yankee Clipper Inn for our anniversary a good 20 of the 28 years of our marriage. The Inn came under new ownership a few years ago and faltered a bit with poor management decisions. I am THRILLED beyond belief to report that the glorious patina and charm has been deftly restored under the new management of Michael Barnhard and his front desk assistant Colleen. The Inn is a lovely grande dame from the turn of the century that has been beautifully maintained to reflect the beauty and elegance of its time. Mike and Colleen completely understand and deliver the gracious service a guest would expect from such an exceptional venue, creating an atmosphere of cozy intimate quiet romance. Kudos to you both! The pleasure was ours! (same time next year!)

Room Tip: There are 8 guest rooms, all are lovely, quaint and what one would expect from a turn of the century...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talleulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful view compared to a lot of the B&Bs. However for the 300+ a night I expected to have a hot breakfast not just cereal and stale pastries. The bed was the worst part mattress was at least 10 years old and I could feel springs poking my back. The room was a 100+ degrees when I arrived and the ac did not quite do the job of cooling it off the btu was too low for the room. Management was cheery and pretended I was the first to ever complain. The had a guy coming to fix it so they attempted to fix it at least. They do not maintain the pool it had bugs floating leaves ect. and no net to do it your self clean. I would suggest staying at Captain house had a perfect experience there and its less money and they make a hot breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fadeallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I decided to travel to Rockport, MA for our 4th anniversary. Here is a run down of our 4 nights: First night: Dinner at Ocean View, dessert from Tucks Candy at pier. Day 2: hike at Halibut State Park and lunch at The Lobster Pool. Dinner at Alchemy. Day 3: Kayak tour with North Shore Kayak, Lunch a Roy Moore. Dinner at Cape Ann Brewery and walk to Granite Pier. Day 4: Whale Watching with Captain Bill and Sons, quick lunch after at Captain Carlos. Dinner at Duckworth's Bistro. All food was excellent, but we were disappointed in Alchemy. It was our anniversary dinner and most expensive meal ($80) but simply mediocre. Duckworth's Bistro is truly something special! We loved our room at the Yankee Clipper Inn, Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I cannot recommend this place enough. We stayed there for one night on a drive through New England but really wish it could have been longer. The rooms were lovely - really thoughtfully decorated and large. We were welcomed and well looked after for the duration of our stay - with Belgian Waffles for breakfast in the morning and directions to an amazing place to eat lobsters in town. The view out the windows was breathtaking, we were right on the sea. My only caveat is that Rockport is a very small (and dry) town so get there early for dinner and pop by an off license on the way if you fancy a nightcap in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecAoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place was just as a traditional inn should feel: quiet, cozy, with personal service combined with a fantatstic view of the sea (we stayed in the volunteer room). The room was very nice with a flat screen and hbo. The only gripe is the lack of staff (at least when we were there- beginning of summer) where there was only one person working which was a problem in at least one occasion. 300 a night is a bit pricey for even a sea view and the lowered priced rooms which lack a sea view are thus even more overpriced but i still recommend this place for those looking for a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: go for volunteer or other sea viewing rooms otherwise your are being over charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 60 miles north of Boston. There are 8 guest rooms and an ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing