We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockport ROCKS”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rockport ROCKS”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Our family had a lovely stay. The inn is beautiful and we had a great view of the water from our room. Al took very good care of us. He's awesome!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livebytheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    53
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
139
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Veazie, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Once again on the days surrounding Veteran's Day my husband and I returned to the
Yankee Clipper Inn to enjoy our second anniversary. (2009-honeymoon & 2010 anniver-
sary #1) The rooms have been tastefully redecorated and we can't tell you how great
the view was from our suite!
Allan greeted us and was very gracious and accomodating during our stay. He was always
checking in with us to make sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast is served in the
main dining room which has a spectacular view of Rockport Harbor!
It is fun to visit Rockport in the late fall when things are quieter. Fall foliage is still good
and there still are plenty of shops and antiquing that can be done within a 25 mile radius.
We're looking forward to our return trip next year!

Marilyn & Jeff (from Maine)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

my wife and i stayed at the Yankee clipper in June 2011 and the room was great clean beautiful view, and the bistro 127 was wonderful my wife had the stuffed haddock with crab meat stuffing and i had the salom with roasted potatoes. chef Allan was a very pleasant guy dressed very nice and he had on hell of a sense of humor. he walked up and down the bistro cracking jokes and sharing his secrets of his cooking. we thought Allan was the manager because everybody that worked there and other guests went to Allan when they had a question or issue. we will be coming back to the clipper next year for some more peace of mind and A'ls great cooking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was my and my wife's 6th stay at the "Clipper". Needless to say, when we plan an East Coast trip it's a must to see the Rockport area and see that beautiful coast from our room. The food was especially delicious with chef Al at the top of his game--and so very accommodating!

Room Tip: Plan your trip early and get a room with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This place has become amazing over the past few months. New management, new staff, upgrades throughout, excellent food. Best B&B in the area!

Room Tip: All but 1 room has great ocean views and porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankclip, Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us during our Open House on December 10th & 11th when the Inn will be beautifully decorated for the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Had a lovely meal with a good friend there Saturday evening! Great service, great food, great atmosphere and FABULOUS view!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Was looking for a single night over 4th of July weekend, and found a room at the Yankee Clipper Inn that was open for Saturday night. Because it was booked the night before and the night after, the normal 3 nite minimum was waved. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The views were fantastic, and the room was well appointed. We were concerned about earlier reviews stating the carpet was old and the wall paper was peeling off the walls, but these must have been fixed, as the carpet was new, and the walls seemed freshly painted. We could not have been happier with the room and private bath. Note we had a very bad experience in their restaurant (service was inept, and better food could be had at Applebees). The service at breakfast was better, but the fare was nothing to get excited about (scrambled eggs, bacon, and blueberry muffin). We'll come back and stay in the inn, but find another place to have dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrLarryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing