We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast, friendly innkeepers”
Review of Sally Webster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sally Webster Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Suzan and Dean were great. Very friendly and helpful, and their breakfast was always delicious. The Sally Webster Inn was a very convenient walk from the quaint Bearskin Neck seaside village, with delicious lobster to eat and inspiring art galleries to browse. My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Rockport at Sally Webster Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please stay with us on your next New England trip and receive a return guest discount. Have a great Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Susan and Dean were the ultimate innkeepers. We felt like family. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and well furnished with antiques. Breakfast was very nice and home prepared. Location was within walking distance of downtown attractions. We would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New England tour. Please stay with us on your next trip east..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent two nights in October. The owners were very helpful giving me directions to the train, times etc to get to Boston. THe room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was also great. I was a bit worried when I read the negative comments before booking but finally I dont understand why anyone would have any negative comments to make! The town of Rockport is lovely as was the Sally Webster Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaesirois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for visiting from Canada. Unfortunately we can not please every guest. We are glad you chose to stay with us. Please visit again and receive a discount on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We rented the entire in for my daughter's wedding the Inn keepers Suzanne and Dean were the best! The rooms very clean and very nicely kept. The breakfast the next day was amazing. I woke my husband up early to go and clean up the Inn because our guest were up late; Suzanne and Dean had already cleaned it and had breakfast made. Cannot say enough on how nice they both were. I would recommend it highly, great location as well and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aversahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your review Please stay with us again on your next New England trip. We give a discount for guests that return to our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

PROS:
~More reasonably priced than many Rockport accommodations.
~Ample free parking at the back of the inn.
~Nice looking property and grounds.
~Readily available tea and Keurig coffee in the breakfast room.
~Complimentary bottled water in room.
~Hair dryer, electric fireplace and nice toiletries in room.
~7 minute walk to the town center.
~Breakfast buffet included egg, sausage, juice, coffee, breads. It was OK. You are seated with other guests, which can make for a pleasant morning chat.
~Sunny deck/patio off the back for relaxing with a coffee and a book. They even have a cat on property!
~Non-smoking rooms.
~Many tourist pamphlets/brochures in the lobby to help plan your stay.

CONS:
~A little too 'kitschy' and cluttered for my liking.
~Cleanliness could be improved.
~Stain on the 'clean' fitted sheet when we arrived.
~No iron in room.
~Service/hospitality was not quite as personable as some we had experienced on our tour of New England.
~Room needed a full length mirror.
~The room we paid for (Prentiss) was quite small but adequate for the night. If you like your space however, I would recommend a different room.
~The shower was small like one on a cruise ship and the floor was a little slippery with no grab bar/handle.
~Floors were kinda creeky! (Read: noisy)
~Small TV in room. (18"?)
~The hands on the clock in our room were stopped at '1:50' permanently.
~No elevator, although the owner helped us upstairs with our cases. If you aren't very good with stairs, it might be an issue.
~They prefer cash or check, but will accept credit cards.

Rockport seemed very expensive for accommodations. I think if I went there again, I'd stay more towards Gloucester and drive to Rockport. Overall, the Sally Webster Inn was pleasant, but it seemed like it could do with a little TLC and a decluttering!

If you found this review helpful, please click 'YES'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please visit us again on your next New England adventure. Make your reservation in advance and perhaps choose a different room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

back again at our favourite B&B......Great welcome from Suzan and Dean , the innkeepers.
This is a home away from home.
Accommodations first class and breakfast is good , healthy and tasty. The Inn was built in 1832
and has all the charm of yesteryear. Well worth the visit to Rockport, Mass. USA

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you Brian, for your review. It is great to read a guest's review while they are still at our Inn.
We know you will return and get some better fishing in town. Have a good 2013 and we hope to see you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sally Webster Inn for three nights in August, 2013. It is an authentic old colonial in the historic district of town, beautifully landscaped, furnished and very clean! Each room has a private bathroom, flat screen TV, and a very comfortable queen bed with coverlets and quilts. The innkeepers are a lovely friendly couple full of knowledge and suggestions for local activities, sites and restaurants.Breakfast is included and offers a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins and baked specialties. There is a lovely garden area for relaxing and coffee, tea and ice are always available. They have many repeat visitors which speaks well for their hospitality!

Room Tip: There is a lovely first floor room if you would prefer no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyweb, Guest Relations Manager at Sally Webster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you Barbara for your review. We hope our accommodations and breakfast suit our guests' needs. Our breakfasts are exceptional in the Bed & Breakfast industry. Please visit Rockport and stay with us on your next northern adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.8 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree B&B
Beech Tree B&B
#4 of 24 in Rockport
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#6 of 24 in Rockport
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sally Webster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sally Webster Inn

Address: 34 Mount Pleasant St, Rockport, MA 01966-1713
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $130 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sally Webster Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rockport's loveliest old homes. Breakfast Buffet each morning. "Welcome to the Charm of Yesteryear" with Today's Amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sally Webster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing