We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't worry honey...take your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Addison Choate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addison Choate Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't worry honey...take your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rockport (MA)...... first time, late at night, lost. Have to make the call we can not find it. Guess what.. No problem at all. With a bit of help we arrived some hours later and what a welcome. We felt at home the moment we entered this charming B&B. Great hosts, room and breakfast. And what a good spot to explore this beautiful region. If you are lost one day...just call the Addison Choate Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robispho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Four of us arrived on a rainy, chilly spring night to cosy rooms. Jan kindly called down to The Blue Lobster, a short drive down the road, to hold the door open for dinner. She also gave us a bottle of wine and some beer since the restaurant does not have a liquor license. The next morning she refused to take payment for the wine or beer and served up a delicious breakfast buffet. One of the rooms was small and unremarkable; the other was larger with a lovely 4 poster bed. Both had luxurious bedding. Had the weather been better we all would've enjoyed walking into town and down to the harbor.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank France4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed there for two nights in October. Room was nice and clean. Very local to downtown as well. I do wish the rooms has TV's....although it was okay to watch tv in the den. We'd stay there again on our next trip back, however the Inn keepers have a cat...

Room Tip: any rooms seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daninchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a delightful B&B. It has character and charm and is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The lounge is delightful and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent a lovely two nights in this small inn in pretty Rockport. The room was comfortable and spotless, and also very pretty. Breakfast was a highlight - absolutely delicious. It was also lovely to return late in the afternoon to find a jug of iced tea and cookies waiting for us. The inn is located close to the centre of town, so it is easy to walk down to the many restaurants and lovely views at the centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagotoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
383 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The owner and hostess of this Inn is Jan, a very friendly and informative innkeeper. Her attention to detail is spot on, from the cloth napkins to different cut-up fruit and hot entree every morning. Several selections were even organic. Loved that, Jan!

We were lucky enough to stay in two rooms and i say that, because each were different, but so nice. Lucy's room had a very comfortable bed, spacious bedroom and comfortable bath with long counter for toiletries. Wonderful window to let in morning sun, wood floors, crisp sheets, fluffly towels, refrigerator, and clean, so clean. Margot's room was the same, except for more windows, a little larger bedroom, a TV, a little smaller bathroom and again, so clean. Loved both rooms.

In the morning, we could get up at any time to get coffee on the Keurig machine which delivered delicious hot coffee. Plenty of room in the Inn to walk around and also a TV in the den for morning news.

We stayed 5 nights and never had the same breakfast twice, even tho, I wouldn't have minded . Every morning the breakfast was as tasty as the next.
Jan also had great suggestions for restaurants. She was correct about all of them. We especially liked when she sent us to East Gloucester to The Rudder. She let us know that we should go early to drive around the area to see the great achitecture and shore line and it was beautiful.

All in all, Jan made our 5 days in Cape Ann perfect. Her Inn is roomy, homey, comfortable and in a great location to walk downtown. All this and historic, to boot. Thanks, Jan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in the Crow's Nest and had friends staying in two other rooms at the Inn. Rockport was fun and we had a great time, but the highlight was definitely the Inn itself. The special attention to details -- fluffy white robes in the rooms for you to use, complimentary cookies in the afternoon and port in the evenings -- as well as the excellent breakfasts provided and the beauty and comfort of the rooms themselves made this weekend a much needed romantic and stress relieving get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnodead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beech Tree B&B
Beech Tree B&B
#3 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addison Choate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addison Choate Inn

Property: Addison Choate Inn
Address: 49 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Addison Choate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addison Choate Inn provides the perfect retreat from the hectic pace of everyday life. We are located just a block and a half from the center of Rockport's historic seaside village, which is a reminder of times gone by with its quaint shops, lovely beaches, art galleries, eclectic restaurants, and seaside band concerts. Also, the Shalin Liu Performance Center is only steps alway from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Addison Choate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing