We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Rockport”
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's House
Ranked #10 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have visited Rockport three times and this time we found the Captain's House because my brother wanted to "be near the water". The Captain's House is only feet from the water, has a beautiful view of two islands and two light houses, off the main road, only minutes from downtown, and very quiet. Beautiful flowers in the garden and parking on their property adjacent to the house. The innkeepers are very friendly, provided a wonderful breakfast located on the side porch overlooking the great view of the ocean. The inn is spotless. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. you can see it on Google Maps and see how near the water it is!!! You can not get a better view anywhere with such pleasant surroundings. GDW Advance, NC

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mongooseadvancenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Captain's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and I have been going to the Captain's House at least once a year for 8 years now and we are always completely satisfied. We stay in Room 1, which has stunning ocean views and its own private sunroom. Breakfast is laid out every morning in the beautiful oceanfront sunporch and you can go down at your own leisure to enjoy it. The views from the house are magnificent and there are plenty of nooks to sit in out on the rocks and dream. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We love it there!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisndanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

WOW - what a great place. Wonderful location, great friendly staff, great breakfast. We had a wonderful few days and will recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul8rady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

we stayed at the Captain's House for 2 nights in september 2008.
Our room had wonderful views. Although our bathroom was not en suite but immediately next to our door it was 'our own'. The room was clean, bathrobes were provided, the bed was more then allright. The lady who was the temporary innkeeper was very helpful and friendly. The common rooms were well maintained and inviting. The only negative point was that on the morning we were leaving to catch our flight, all (3) the breakfast tables were taken, so we had to sit at an improvised table because the other guests were in no hurry! All in all a very recommendable place to spend a few days and nights!

Beck & Boerma Amsterdam, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BobecAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Axellecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dominik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht alle Zimmer haben ein eigens Bad.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
2.2 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
3.9 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 24 in Rockport
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Address: 69 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set directly on a rocky shoreline, our New England Bed and Breakfast Inn will give you that home-away-from-home feeling, with spacious living room with fireplaces, comfortable furnishings and spectacular water views. A continental breakfast is served on the sun porch overlooking the ocean. Each of the five bedrooms and five baths is tastefully decorated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing