We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's House
Ranked #12 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple nights in early November. The property is beautiful, sit's right on the water, views were amazing! Owners were very welcoming and helped us navigate around Rockport as this was our first time visiting. We stayed in Room #1 with the sunroom, couldn't have been happier. Extremely clean and comfortable, you will not be disappointed staying here. If you are looking to get out of the city and relax, this is the place to be!

Troy & Nikki

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just loved this beautiful old inn right on the Atlantic in Cape Ann. Fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves, and awoke to a front row seat of beautiful sunrises. As an artist , I actively seek out beautiful places to visit where I can not only relax, but paint. This was heaven for me. Gretchen was a lovely and hospitable host, and her continental breakfasts far exceeded the norm. I do hope to be blessed enough to have the opportunity to return!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Though we only had the opportunity to stay one night at this beautiful old seaside home our memory will be long lasting. Friendly greeting, nicely decorated room,comfy bed, amazing views, wonderful porch overlooking the ocean,chairs at seaside, well maintained grounds and an enjoyable continental breakfast to start the day. Located right next to the ocean we enjoyed the magical sound of waves pounding against the rocks and the sight of seagulls hurrying to some unknown destination. Just a great place to relax and perhaps ponder the mysteries of life.

Room Tip: Room Number One which offers a sunroom with a daybed and chairs is without question the place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our second trip to Rockport and this was the best choice for us. We loved the setting, right on the Ocean with places to sit,read and relax. Gretchen and Tim made us feel right at home and the dog won over our hearts. Short walks into town or longer walks on the paths were just the thing to unwind . We will go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Captain's House. Very relaxed, beautiful location and close to many things to do. We just barely sampled the area so we're already hoping to come back. I can see why the area has drawn artists for quite some time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Traveling for a few days with my wife, and wanted to stay on Cape Ann to see that area. We have spent many vacations in Martha's Vineyard, and wanted a change. The location was spectacular, the Inn very comfortable, and the sounds and scent of the ocean added to the joy experienced there. Breakfast was also good. I would recomend this to all! We were there during a very hot few days, and the rooms were without airconditioning. It was warm, but the constant breeze kept it comfortable, no higher than 82 degrees (note- it was 95 plus in New Jersey that day)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wvt1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

nice staff clean with a great view. Their is a romantic walking trail that follows a cliffy path for jogging that runs along the shoreline. Rooms are small but very nice and cute with a romantic touch. Breakfast is nice! I would stay at this one before I choose the others located their.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fadeallout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
2.2 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
1 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Address: 69 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $135 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set directly on a rocky shoreline, our New England Bed and Breakfast Inn will give you that home-away-from-home feeling, with spacious living room with fireplaces, comfortable furnishings and spectacular water views. A continental breakfast is served on the sun porch overlooking the ocean. Each of the five bedrooms and five baths is tastefully decorated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing