We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach & King Street Inn
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed here as part of our Summer holiday, we were touring New England. We were very comfortable at the Inn and hospitably looked after. We stayed at the back of the house in half of the Coral Suite, the room was beautifully furnished and most comfortable and we had our own private entrance down the side of the house. Although the weather was very warm the simple air conditioning arrangements were good enough to make us comfortable at night and the view from the Inn over the beach is lovely. It was a great pleasure to take breakfast on the deck and watch the sea, we didn't feel the need to make use of the arrangement for a full breakfast which the Inn has with the cafe just down the road - the pastries, juice and coffee that were on offer were enough for us. Rockport is a super little town, picture perfect New England with some great places to eat - especially on Bearskin Neck. I have no hesitation in recommending this Inn and it makes a great base for whale watching out of Gloucester from whence we sailed to see the whale and were rewarded with loads.

  • Liked — The location and the town it was in.
  • Disliked — Having to park the car down the road.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EastAnglian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Beach & king street inn was our first encounter with the American b&b, and I must say we fell in love with it.
We loved the hospitality, helpful and atentive throughout, but at no time not being intrusive.
The room was amazing, waking up to views of the beach and the sunrise, and the great attention to details in the furnishing.
The food surprised us, we were ready for a continental breakfast (as stated by the web site) usually meaning bread, jam and coffee in Europe, but instead got a fabulous, very tasty, and very filling array each morning. My complements to the chef.
I should also say some good words about the living room, very inviting place to sit and relax after a long day with a nice piece of home made cake and a good cup of tea.
..... why can't life always be like this?

  • Liked — The view from our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gur_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at Beach & King at the end of August. The Inn is very well maintained, the location is just a short walk from the main part of town and the view of the Beach is great. We stayed in the Beach Room which had a generous amount of space and faced the beach (hence the name). While we were there Tim and Laurie were experimenting with Yogurt Parfaits for breakfast which we would *highly* recommend. All in all quite a nice stay... lovely Inn and very nice hosts.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaTova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

we stayed from friday through sunday, arrived very late friday and the inn keeper greated us and helped us get settled. Our room had a wonderful view of the water, was pretty and very comfortable. The owner was gracious- available when we needed him, but not intrusive, the inn was charming filled with interesting arts and crafts, had a great porch with rockers and overstuffed chairs in the lounge. we'd happily stay again.

  • Liked — view, comfortable and elegant surroundings
  • Disliked — breakfast was so-so.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This is a lovely B & B in a great location across the street from the beach and walking distance to shops and restaurants. It is small with only a few rooms and guests, which is nice. It has a great front porch overlooking the beach.

This is the second year I have stayed there. The owners provide a continental breakfast, which is ok., but In previous years a voucher for breakfast at a nearby restaurant was provided. Unfortunately, the restaurant is no longer serving breakfast.

It is very likely that I will stay there again.

  • Liked — the location and very charming place
  • Disliked — the breakfast was ok but nothing special
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonChris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This B&B was just wonderful. Although the weather was rainy a lot of the time, we felt so relaxed just sitting in the comfy chairs in the living room with a glass of wine overlooking Front Beach. Then onto the front porch in the rocking chairs! When the sun did finally show itself, we were able to enjoy a short walk into town or to the beach. We loved how there were beach chairs and towels waiting for us to use at our leisure. The small touches were wonderful -- cookies in the afternoon with lemonade, wonderful pastries and fruit in the morning, even our own cooler filled with ice and bottled waters! Our room was very clean and comfortable -- the decoration in the whole house was
beautifully done. We will come back soon as it was a very easy ride in from Connecticut and just the perfect place to go for a nice weekend getaway!

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2008

That was our first B&B experience. Since I like it quiet when I travel (my husband can sleep in any circumstances) I never care to try. However, referring to the description and the quality pictures, that inn caught my attention. The place, the surrounding and the quality of what we received enchanted us.

We chose the beach room...What a room with a view. Exactly like the pictures.

The only problem was that we only booked three nights...four would have been a better stay.

Bring your bike. The island tour is worthy. Long but definitely a nice activity to do if you are ready to pedal up and down for 4 hours.

So I highly recommended going there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Having to leave after three days
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OurReview4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Beachside
Eagle House Beachside
#5 of 6 in Rockport
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach & King Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach & King Street Inn

Property: Beach & King Street Inn
Address: 2 King St, Corner of Beach Street & King Street, Rockport, MA 01966-1318
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-14) Located across from Rockport's Front Beach, Beach & King is a unique Cape Ann Beach House rental on the North Shore in Massachusetts. Accommodations at our Rockport beach house offer a picturesque setting with stunning ocean views and a 5-minute stroll to historic Bearskin Neck and the village. Whether it's a family getaway week or a personal experience that you are searching for, our ocean breezes and soothing sounds of the surf will renew your spirit. The Beach & King House is a historic building with a soothing decor of ocean themes and colors. Experience this beautiful seaside village in Rockport Massachusetts for yourself. Keywords: Rockport, Gloucester, Cape Ann, Vacation Rental, beachfront, ocean views, reunion, Massachusetts, North Shore, wedding party Suitability: Long-term Renters Welcome, children welcome, non smoking, no pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach & King Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing