We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy couple get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach & King Street Inn
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy couple get away”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

That was our first B&B experience. Since I like it quiet when I travel (my husband can sleep in any circumstances) I never care to try. However, referring to the description and the quality pictures, that inn caught my attention. The place, the surrounding and the quality of what we received enchanted us.

We chose the beach room...What a room with a view. Exactly like the pictures.

The only problem was that we only booked three nights...four would have been a better stay.

Bring your bike. The island tour is worthy. Long but definitely a nice activity to do if you are ready to pedal up and down for 4 hours.

So I highly recommended going there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Having to leave after three days
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OurReview4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My wife and I traveled to Boston and Rockport on our annual wedding anniversary trip. We wanted to pick a relaxing and relatively simple travel destination... we'll we got it! Awesome spot in Rockport and surrounding areas (must go to Woodmans in Essex!)... And the Beach and King Street Inn made the trip. Great simple and comfortable decor - not like many B&Bs adorned with victorian style; the Beach and King felt like something out of Pottery Barn. Plus interesting objects and stories as Tim and Laurie owned an art gallery / shop in Rockport at one time. Great energy at the Inn overall... Tim and Laurie made our stay special. And great views of the town beach and ocean. Request the Beach Room.

We recommend the Beach and King Street Inn highly.

The Squires

  • Liked — The owners, decor and overall relaxing feel
  • Disliked — parking - lack of...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We had a great 4 days at the B&K St. Inn. Our room small but very comfortable (Other rooms were larger). However, the bathroom was spacious. Everything was very clean and nicely furnished. The continental breakfast was very good, and you get vouchers for afull breakfast next doors. Although the B&K Inn is small, we actually met several other couples, who we socialized with. Overall, a very pleasant experience, despite the heatwave we encountered during our stay. The Inn is on the beach. The best event of the stay was watching a thunderstorm from the deck. I would heartedly recommend the B&K Inn for couples. Just be advised that parking is on the street. No problem, but you may have to walk a half block to the car.

  • Liked — Quaintness & comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHartford,CT
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Great location across from the beach. A nice 5-10 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Hotel was very accommodating with beach chairs and coolers for your use. Rooms had a lovely view of waterfront. Plenty of peace and quiet with a nice ocean breeze from the veranda.

  • Liked — Close to Beach and shops/restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was a very nice place.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Victorstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusets
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Our stay at Beach & King was just what we needed for a quick reprieve from our busy summer work schedules. This lovely inn overlooks two beaches on the North Shore and each morning we sat with a cup of coffee in rocking chairs on the porch watching the first beach-lovers of the day make new footprints in the sand. Tim, our innkeeper, prepared fluffy croissants each morning with butter and jam, fruit juices, fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits and melon slices.
An afternoon snack was out by 4 -- chocolate chip cookies still cooling or lemon pound cake drizzled with a glaze.

The rooms are sumptuous in luxury bedding and bath fabrics. Our room featured the artist Mosher who is known for his harbor scapes. The inn was a wonderful setting for a short interlude! Royalty could only have it so good!

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste Therese,QC
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed 6 days at this lovely Bed&Breakfeast. The hosts, Laurie and Tim treated us with so much class and kindness. This magnificient house breathes the happiness and joy.
Our room was perfect and very clean each day.
The location is perfect, the beach was right across the street and we could walk to see all the nice galleries and excellent restaurant.
We recommend the Beach&King Street Inn without any hesitation.
We will go back next year for sure.
Pierre and Ginette

  • Liked — View on ocean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scrat0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This was my first time at a B&B...and let me tell you...they definately seemed to set the bar high! We stayed in the King Room. Everything was clean, comfortable and extremely charming...as others would say....a home away from home. Tim and Laurie were just great! They were there if you needed anything...but kept out of sight so you could enjoy yourself without feeling like someone was watching over you. They REALLY outdid themselves with the breakfast too! Fresh pastries, juice, coffee out...and then when they realized you were awake they made us fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits, apple turnovers and fresh cut melon...just perfect to start your day! They were wonderful and accomodating and we will definately be back!

  • Liked — quiet, cozy and close to everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamabfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Beachside
Eagle House Beachside
#5 of 6 in Rockport
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach & King Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach & King Street Inn

Property: Beach & King Street Inn
Address: 2 King St, Corner of Beach Street & King Street, Rockport, MA 01966-1318
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-14) Located across from Rockport's Front Beach, Beach & King is a unique Cape Ann Beach House rental on the North Shore in Massachusetts. Accommodations at our Rockport beach house offer a picturesque setting with stunning ocean views and a 5-minute stroll to historic Bearskin Neck and the village. Whether it's a family getaway week or a personal experience that you are searching for, our ocean breezes and soothing sounds of the surf will renew your spirit. The Beach & King House is a historic building with a soothing decor of ocean themes and colors. Experience this beautiful seaside village in Rockport Massachusetts for yourself. Keywords: Rockport, Gloucester, Cape Ann, Vacation Rental, beachfront, ocean views, reunion, Massachusetts, North Shore, wedding party Suitability: Long-term Renters Welcome, children welcome, non smoking, no pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach & King Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing