We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Street Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pleasant Street Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this B and B in October 2012 for a much more affordable price than the waterfront places. We totally enjoyed our stay. The house is immaculate, and the continental breakfast was delicious and probably much healthier than those huge buffets in some hotels. We enjoyed Lynn's subtle and understated humour. She was insightful, intelligent, and most helpful. We heard her actually find a room in another B and B for some people who needed a room when she was full. We walked all around town due to the great location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a charming bed and breakfast in Rockport we chose for a two day get-away over Columbus Day Weekend. The Inn has a beautiful front porch overlooking the quaint village of Rockport, incredibly appointed rooms, and the innkeepers were delightful. We will certainly go back the next time we are in Rockport. We had an opportunity to attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center which is a must if you are in town and after the concert we had dinner at Brackett's right next door. All in all it was a wonderful weekend away in one of our favorite little coastal towns.

Room Tip: Room #1 at the top of the stairs is a perfect sized room with a comfortable sitting area - this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjhkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant night at the Pleasant Street Inn and yes we would return for another visit if in the area. The home is an architectural masterpiece of early 19th century style and is a remarkable restoration. Lynn & Jim, who own the place, are gracious hosts, the room we had was small but well furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was large variation of fruits, breads, cereal and juice.

Room Tip: Try and get a front room so that you an view the town of Rockport and the harbor; Pleasant Street In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are not concerned with looking at the ocean from your B&B this is the best location. The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The wide front porch is great for relaxing, reading, or having a cup of tea in the afternoon.The street is quiet and close to everything. We walked everywhere within five minutes - to the beach, to downtown, to restaurants, to Bearskin Neck. Inside the house is lovely. The rooms on the second floor are larger with bigger bathrooms. The rooms on the third floor, where we stayed for most of the visit, were smaller but I would not call them small. The bathrooms were small but adequate and after the first day were very serviceable. Be aware that the third floor staircase is steep with narrow steps but from the second floor you can take the outside staircase. This may sound difficult but it was not. After awhile we could take the inside stairs without any problem. The towels and sheets are not luxurious as one writer complained but they are clean and in excellent shape. The whole house is spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was simple but very good each day. It was served in a lovely dining room or you could take it to the front porch. Along with fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt. and english muffins we were served a delicious fresh baked item each day. These ranged from muffins to cakes to cobblers. This was perfect each day and left room for sampling lunch spots on the island.

Our innkeepers, Lynne and Roger were very helpful. If you are looking for recommendations for things to do or restaurants make sure you talk to them about it. They make sure that your stay is enjoyable.

We will return.

Room Tip: Best room is #1 on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Pleasant Street Inn is NOT pleasant, by any stretch of the imagination.
Lynne, the Innkeeper, is very unfriendly, unwelcoming and passive aggressive. She acts as if you are invading her space and putting her out by staying at her Inn. She was rude and unfriendly when we checked in, scolded us like children for coming in late (we were in town for a wedding that ended quite late and had let her know in advance), walked off in a huff when I tried to apologize and so on (I could go on for way too long with stories about her behavior). When we asked for restaurant suggestions she couldn't give us one place. After about a day and a half of this we ended up only using the outdoor staircase and sneaking around the back to avoid anymore unpleasant run-ins with her. As if feeling like you are unwanted and in trouble at the hotel you are paying to stay in for the weekend, it doesn't end there.
The breakfast was extremely underwhelming (not to mention curdled milk), carb-y, nothing hot and nothing good. Our friends who stayed at other B&B's in the area raved about their incredible hot breakfasts...do yourself a favor and stay at one of those! Bathroom was dingy with tiny rough towels and a shower that didn’t work well/flooded bathroom with water every time.
I have saved the BEST for last. The whole Inn, but SO strongly in our room SMELLED OF DEAD RAT. It was SO gross. As I forgot my perfume we resorted to spraying bug spray all over the room to try and mask the smell long enough to do what we needed. Seriously, stay ANYWHERE else, there are tons of great options in the area but this isn’t one of them!!!

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThePepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during a family reunion and found everything to our liking. The old-fashioned front porch gives a good idea of the ambiance inside. Appreciated the tasty + healthy breakfast, spacious room (#1, at the top of the stairs on 2nd floor) with super-comfy bed and spacious bathroom. The owner, Lynne, was EXCEPTIONALLY patient and understanding in dealing with our adult children, who had quirky schedules and booked in something of a panic at the last minute. She was also exquisitely tactful in her interactions with a member of our party with obvious disabilities. We would LOVE to return.

Room Tip: The rooms/baths are all different - let Lynne help you select the one that best meets your needs!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marydave_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed in many Rockport B&B's over the years, and recently enjoyed a delightful stay at the Pleasant St. Inn. Perched on a hill a very short walk from town, the big porch provided one of the loveliest locations we've found to enjoy breakfast, read or relax. While not huge, the homemade muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. made a fine breakfast, and the hosts were helpful and caring. The house is charming, with a great big yard.... a better location can't be found. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandPWesternMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Street Inn

Property: Pleasant Street Inn
Address: 17 Pleasant St, Rockport, MA 01966-2152
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing