We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute pleasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seafarer Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Seafarer Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“An absolute pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had an incredible evening and morning at The Seafarer! Our room was adorably furnished with a king and day bed, making us feel right at home. A couple with a young children would also be an ideal fit for our particular room. The continental breakfast overlooking the ocean cannot be beat! We'll definitely be back this summer for the on-season, although we do recommend visiting Rockport in the spring. You still need your coat, but there are so few people in town that it's like you're on another planet (at least to two Bostonians).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you visit the Seafarer. We love your comment that Rockport is like another planet! It truly is a world away from the city. We hope you can come visit again in the warmer months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
121
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Since we were in the area we decided to spend a day or two in Rockport. We're so glad we chose the Seafarer Inn. Despite bone-chilling winds outside, our room was cozy with a nice fireplace, very comfortable bed and seating area and beautiful views from every window. Chris was attentive and helpful, but not "in your face" the way some B&B owners can be. The wonderful continental breakfast featured fresh fruit, cereal, pastries and more coffee choices than I've ever seen, enjoyed in a windowed room overlooking the ocean. We definitely will be back when it's warmer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have water views so it's hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
So happy to hear you found the house relaxing. That is our main goal! The weather is not quite as cold these days, so we hope you are able to come back soon and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My best friend and I had plans at a nearby airbnb rental cottage fall through a few hours before we were to arrive in Rockport and Chris and Beth came to the rescue. And what a treat it was! From the king size bed, warm hospitality, cozy fireplaces, and incredible peaceful views, the Seafarer Inn provided a much needed respite from a busy week in the city. They are located on a peninsula overlooking the ocean and there is a sunroom and living room from where you can gaze out for hours while enjoying endless cups of coffee or tea and a satisfying breakfast of fresh fruit and cereal or baked goods and other treats.

Thank you Chris and Beth for being such gracious, friendly, and generous hosts with lists of recommendations for dinner or breakfast out as well as local fun attractions. Your guests are lucky to find you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We were happy to be able to save your weekend for you when your cottage fell through. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thanks to the owners of this inn or quiet getaway weekend was perfect. The loblolly room had a great view of the water and the sunrise. The house was in impeccable shape and made you forget that it was winter outside. For an offseason stay we couldn't feel more welcomed. I will have to come back in the summer

Room Tip: I'd ask for one with a sunrise view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCrash424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure to have you here. We cannot take credit for the sunrise but are happy you got to enjoy it. We are happy to hear you are looking forward to coming back in the summer. Rockport is a lovely place no matter what the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Chris and Beth were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed. We loved the lighthouse motif throughout the inn, right down to the breakfast plates. The breakfast was great: assorted beverages, fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, waffles with REAL maple syrup. The bathing facilities were a little spartan in our room. There was a lovely claw-foot tub, but one had to sit in the tub and use the flexible hose and shower head if one did not want to soak. But, that is to be expected at an older inn. The rocky coast and ocean views were spectacular!

Room Tip: There is not a room in the inn that does not have a beautiful view. The rooms on the third floor hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure having you here! Each of our rooms has a private bathroom and each one is different. The Pebble Beach room, where you stayed is the only one with the European style hand held shower. Many people find it charming, but we understand it isn't everyone's cup of tea. Next time you stay with us, we suggest the Long Beach or Cape Hedge room. Both have stand up showers and great views. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful inn excellent spot across from the ocean!! The inn keepers are friendly and it's very clean plus very quant. I was there in the off season and there was a storm my car was cleaned off. The breakfast was great in enclose porch with the view of the ocean. Definatley will stay again as I am in Rockport visiting family a lot!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again when you come to Rockport to visit! Fewer people visit in the winter, so it's nice to have a chance to say it is beautiful here in the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My fiancee and I really enjoyed our stay at the Seafarer Inn. The ocean view from our bedroom on the third floor was very nice The room was great and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Innkeepers, Beth and Chris were friendly and accommodating to us.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor have a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Property: The Seafarer Inn
Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing