We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lobster dinner”

Fish Shack Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect lobster dinner”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Friendly, unpretentious spot to eat the best, freshest lobster I have ever had. Prices were reasonable. Place felt very comfortable in an area that might otherwise feel very touristy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happytotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    200
    56
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were staying in Rockport and after driving to Gloucester for a great dinner the previous night, we attempted to find a good restaurant in Rockport. The hostess and waitress were very nice. The lobster in my lobster scampi was very good. The beer was cold. I think that's it for the positives. The sauce in my scampi was rather tasteless. We also had the fried haddock dinner, the fish was not fresh (and for some reason cut into pieces instead of one nice piece). This seemed strange to us given our location to available fresh seafood. The fries were not really that good either. We thought the prices were high for the quality of the food and the restaurant in general.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
“LOBSTA!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great whole lobster with all the good stuff! Casual dining with air conditioned views. Everything was FRESH like right out of the water fresh and prepared the way everyone ordered. Our friends eat there all the time and love it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Muscles”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Seated in the alcove ,surrounded by customers speaking German and Portuguese gave me the impression of a small cafe in Europe,it felt like home.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank recyclerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice view of old harbour, reasonable price”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Fish sandwich, fries and Chowda were very good. Prices are resonable. They have a nice seating area with 4 table off the main dining room that is a little quiter that the main dining room was very enjoyable and had a good view of Old Harbour

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScreenName9999999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Fish Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing