We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Romantic Oasis in a Rockport B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Tree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Tree B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Romantic Oasis in a Rockport B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last June, we ventured to Rockport to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and found a home away from home.

Located just a short walk from the center of this historic seaside village, The Beech Tree Bed and Breakfast, owned by Dan and Helene Duffy is the ultimate in B & B's. From the moment I phoned and spoke to Dan to make our reservations, I knew our stay was going to be perfect. Pulling up to the Beech Tree only confirmed that......this 1850's Greek revival home, though decorated to absolute perfection, was cozy and welcoming and immaculate from the front door, to the porch and every where in between.The Beech Tree has three rooms for guests - all upstairs. We got to stay in Marga's room. Before you even see the photos, I will tell you that I didn't want to come home. Dan and Helene were the consummate hosts and their intention for perfection was obvious in everything the Beech Tree offers. Whether it be the unbelievably decadent linens on the beds, the fully equipped bathrooms, the homey decor throughout, the beautiful gardens, or the delectable breakfasts they serve - not one detail was overlooked. Each and every room, every area of this home makes you want to sit and relax and beckons you to stay.
The side porch with it's rocking chairs and beautiful view of the magnificent beech tree was the perfect spot to rest after a morning of exploring Rockport. We were fortunate to be blessed with beautiful weather during our visit, so both mornings breakfast was served outside on the patio. Trust me - the fact that we ate outside in no way made this a less than elegant meal. In addition to delicious yogurt, fresh fruit and homemade granola, each day we were also served a hot breakfast, juice and coffee or tea. My only disappointment was in not getting to eat in the simply beautiful dining room!
It is very easy to see why the Beech Tree B & B was a 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough and complimentary review. It is so rewarding when we hear that our guests have enjoyed our home and feel welcome and comfortable. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband surprised me with a Valentine's getaway weekend. Although it was cold and there was a blizzard, we stayed warm and cozy in our suite. The bed was luxurious as was the deep tub in the sparkling bathroom. Breakfast was a highlight. So delicious and creative with our lovely hosts. A walk down the neck was quiet yet beautiful. Winter in Rockport is so intimately romantic. Truly the best weekend we have had in so long.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We share your sentiments about Rockport in the winter. There is a magical "Je ne sais quoi" in our very walkable New England village when it is covered with snow. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others and for your very complimentary review of our accommodations. We greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent a romantic, snowy winter weekend in Rockport. We chose the Beech Tree B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. I recommend the Marga Room. It was lovely, clean, with a very comfortable 4-poster bed. Breakfast was delicious, and the hosts were very accommodating with any kind of special diet you may require.

We especially loved the location because we could walk to everything. Had tickets to a performance at the Shalin Liu Performance Center (fabulous venue, highly recommend!) We also walked up the street to dinner at Lograsso's Italian Bistro (byob, incredible Italian food, very cozy) It was a perfect winter weekend getaway.

Had difficulty finding something that was open in the off-season, glad we stumbled upon the Beech Tree, we will be back!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, we loved the Marga Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for taking the time to share your activities with other travellers who might consider a winter getaway to Rockport. It seems all the seasons have their own special pleasures, which is why we remain open all year. We appreciate your complimentary and helpful review. It was a pleasure having you stay at our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I were heading up to Cape Ann for a christening a couple of weeks ago and decided to treat ourselves to an overnight in Rockport, one of our favorite destinations at any time of year. After a little research on tripadvisor, I chose the Beech Tree...well, who wouldn't want to give the top-rated B & B in Rockport a try? The research certainly paid off; our visit was wonderful, start to finish! We stayed in "Marga's Room", which I now think will be "Our Room" the next time we visit Rockport; I can't think of a single reason to stay elsewhere! The location is excellent: we parked in the driveway and walked all over town. The room and en suite bathroom were immaculate and beautifully decorated. The innkeepers were charming and clearly committed to our comfort in their lovely inn. The breakfast was a gourmet treat! We joined two young couples for the meal and lingered in the sunny dining room; reluctant for our delightful get-away to come to its inevitable conclusion! I am going to book another visit in warmer weather, but I won't put it off too long; I have a feeling this inn will be full throughout the spring and summer!

Room Tip: I loved "Marga's Room" and will choose it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brouillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for your most gracious and complimentary review. We certainly enjoyed the company of fellow educators! We are so glad you enjoyed Marga's room and the company of our other guests. We extend our best wishes for a happy and healthy holiday season and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful home to visit. Owners were super friendly. Made us feel right at home. The master suite was large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was splendid. What a joy to get to stay there!! It is walkable to the downtown shopping and restaurants. What acquaint place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the positive feedback! We are happy to have made your visit to Rockport a comfortable and enjoyable one. We enjoyed your company and hope you may return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have spend 2 lovely nights in this B&B with really high expectations based on tripadvisor ratings... and it was even better than expected. So believe all the great ratings!!! Helene and Dan were so nice and the breakfast was delicious! The coffee cakes in the morning were the best!!!! Everything tasted perfect! We stayed in Marga's room which is really nice & big. The bathroom was so pretty and had so many nice details. We are sorry to leave just after 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BremerPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We're so delighted you enjoyed your stay in our home. We especially enjoyed the conversation about the GPS at the breakfast table! What fun! And glad you got to see some whales! Many thanks for your kind words, enjoy the rest of your trip and come back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in September in the suite. The B&B is immaculate and beautifully kept by the friendly hosts Dan and Helena and the suite we stayed in is spacious and well presented ....great shower and Tub! The hosts provide you with plenty of local advice should you want it - location wise, it's a great and close to the center of Rockport so very convenient to the ammenaties it has to offer.
Breakfast is a great meeting time, and is taken over a large shared breakfast table in the lovely dining room where it was nice to have the opportunity to chat to fellow travellers over a beautifully presented breakfast and a wonderful coffee! Thanks for making it a great stay in Rockport!

Room Tip: Suite very spacious! As the room has a fridge, if you are thinking of taking a bottle of wine buy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenthewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful and complimentary review of our home. It is always enjoyable for us to see our guests having a good time sharing stories around the breakfast table. We are glad you enjoyed it too! It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.4 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree B&B

Property: Beech Tree B&B
Address: 55 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beech Tree B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate three guest room inn in a seaside village on Cape Ann. Two well appointed guest rooms and one suite, all with private baths. AC, TV and ceiling fans. Serving breakfast in a sun filled formal dining room or weather permitting on the porch or patio.Plated Breakfast includes:fresh fruit, home made granola, Greek yogurt, hot entree, baked good and assorted juices, coffee and tea. Enjoy the common areas which include Living Room, recently expanded Sun Room, Covered Side Porch, Patio and Garden area. Sit in a rocking chair while enjoying the sea coast weather and the shade of the 100 year old beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Beech Tree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Bed And Breakfast
Beech Tree Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing