We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just loved everything!”

My Place by the Sea
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Rockport
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We just loved everything!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The view was amazing and the waiter staff were so attentive. Our dishes were delightful. We went for lunch and had great salad, glass of wine and delishes desserts. It was a little pricey but well worth it. I would definitely try dinner there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usconstitution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    99
    43
    27
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view... but that's about it”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This restaurant is located in one of the loveliest positions in Rockport, right at the end of Bearskin Neck. Unfortunately, the view from the upper deck (which, admittedly, is truly staggering at sunset) was the sole highlight of our evening - we left thoroughly disappointed. The menu is extraordinarily limited (for a restaurant located literally on the sea I was amazed to see less than half of entrees were seafood options) and had no reflection of season or what local produce was available (save for the ubiquitous lobster). The wait staff were either young and inexperienced or pretentious and condescending. Living in London, I am used to my fair share of pretentious restaurants but these normally have excellent quality food to back it up - my "cedar plank roasted salmon" was nicely cooked but the soggy and bland vegetables and long grain rice it was sitting on were an unpleasant surprise. The "fisherman's stew" was more of a light, vaguely spicy broth - not bad, but nothing special. In short - it's a beautiful location, let down by the average and over-priced restaurant currently occupying it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lie to customers by the sea!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Called to make a 720 reservation but felt a bit seasick. I conscientiously cancelled by 6:30. I felt better by 8:15 and called to see if they would take us but said NO we are closed!! Hmm. We walked phased at 9:15.. again at 10:00 loads of bustling staff and a petty still drinking and dining away on the patio. Petulant and spiteful. We are respected professionals with vast knowledge and a large circle of travelers. They were stupid to lose the business and now add to a bad reputation. I ran into an employee at a nearby establishment who called for us stating, they are lying..my friend works there and said he would be there till at least 10:30. Really tacky behavior. They should be ashamed!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank rudixoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for lunch”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We sat outside, with a view of the water. The food and service were excellent. Nice menu choices for vegetarians. Wish we had another afternoon in the area to spend there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaHereAndThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The food was delicious and the view was amazing at sunset. I felt that the wait staff were very young and inexperienced at their jobs. They worked hard and were friendly, but for the price of the meal, I would have preferred more experienced staff. The restaurant was very pricey and had a limited menu. I enjoyed my meal and the mussel appetizer was fantastic. We had the best tasting Cod special that I have ever had.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Place by the Sea also viewed

 

Been to My Place by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing