We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven South Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My husband and I decided to get away on the spur of the moment on a Friday
and chose the Seven South Street Inn in Rockport, MA. Being a busy professional
woman myself, I e-mailed the inn desperately hoping that they had accomodations
for 2 days later - Sunday, Monday and Tuesday nights - I received a prompt response
with what was available and Debbie kept in contact with me right through the reser-
vation process and our time of arrival, not wasting a moment of my precious work
time.. I left the pertinent information via the telephone that was picked up by her
machine while she was helping another guest. I have enormous praise for those dealing with the public when they focus on whom they are helping rather than
leaving people waiting while they take another call or worse still leaving someone
standing there when the phone rings and dashing off to take the call.

This was one of the best customer service experiences I have had and I say this
without reservation. I can't imagine things going any more smoothly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbsmything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 311 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2010

My husband and I are well traveled and we particularly enjoy staying at bed and breakfast inns. After much research, we decided to call for a reservation at the Seven South Street Inn.
I dialed the Inn and the phone rang numerous times and an answering maching picked up - at 2:00 in the afternoon. I proceeded to call back about an hour later and a woman very curtly answered the phone after the phone had rung at least 15 times.
I said that I would like to make a reservation for early June and she said "Uh hum" and then there was dead silence. I was a bit stunned as I expected her to say something... anything, maybe along the lines of, "We have such and such room available" or anything to that effect.
Instead, after a brief moment of silence, the woman very rudely said, "Are you still there?"
I proceeded to tell her that I would like to see which rooms are available and she proceeded to tell me that I couldn't have rooms 2, 4 or 7 because they were taken already.
She was quite bothered by the fact that I had called to make a reservation; it was quite obvious that I was bothering the Inn and this woman.
Knowing at this point that I did not want to stay at this Inn, I told the woman that I wanted to look on-line in order to review the room choices and I would call back in order to make my reservation.
She promptly said "Bye" and that was it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank allsunny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Really very good. Great breakfast. Very personable. Felt right at home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HulotConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We would definitely recommend staying here. Rockport is a beautiful little town and the Seven South Street Inn is very close to the center and the main attractions.

The rooms are so pretty! We felt like we were staying at a friend's home. Everything smelled so clean and fresh. Really nice linens and comfy bed. Very homey and welcoming. We really were able to relax.

Another really cool thing is that the owner made me a totally gluten-free breakfast when I mentioned to her that I had an allergy. Very delicious!

The owner was very warm and kind to us, which, of course, always makes a big difference. She recommended we eat dinner at a restaurant in Gloucester, called the Franklin Cafe, that turned out to be fantastic (live Jazz, great food).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigeonpaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Our second visit to the Seven South Street and again we had a lovely time. The rooms are charming and cozy with wonderful details. The breakfasts are fabulous, and Debbie and Nick are very friendly hosts. The charm of Rockport is definitely reflected in this inn. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimsyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Debbie goes out of her way to make you comfortable in this lovely B + B! Breakfast was over the top delish... room was super clean and sooo quiet! Hope to return with the spouse for a longer stay. Cape Ann is beautiful, bring your camera and plan to peruse the local shops and artisans...what a delight!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed two nights, which means we had two great breakfasts, at the Seven South Street Inn. Very clean rooms, small but ours was very well decorated, and just a few minutes walk down the hill into the charming town of Rockport. Just far enough to make you feel like you got to walk off a little of your dinner on the way back (maybe 10 min away tops). Just a few minutes walk from the shore and a nice array of restarants, stores and galleries within a short distance. Highly recommend to B&B inclined travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Beech Tree B&B
Beech Tree B&B
#4 of 24 in Rockport
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Addison Choate Inn
Addison Choate Inn
#5 of 24 in Rockport
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven South Street Inn

Address: 7 South St, Rockport, MA 01966-1799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $159 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven South Street Inn is more than just a Massachusetts Bed and Breakfast. We are one of Massachusetts' best Bed and Breakfasts. When you're with us, you will get the best of both worlds: You'll feel as comfortable as you do at home, while at the same time our attention, first-rate cooking and cozy accommodations will make you feel like you've woken up into the best kind of dream imaginable.When you stay with us, you will be enveloped by our warm, friendly atmosphere. Our grounds are quiet private – there is always a little nook in which to curl up with someone you love, or to spend some quality "you time" with a good book. For relief from the heat of summer, we offer a swimming pool, and if you want to venture away from our grounds during your stay in Massachusetts, we would be happy to make a reservation for you for one of the many car and boat tours available in the area as well as other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Seven South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven South Street Hotel Rockport
7 South Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing