We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noticeable Attention to Details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven South Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Noticeable Attention to Details”
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We had a "girlfriends" weekend in Rockport and chose the Seven South Street Inn for the first time. It was an excellent choice, from the off-street parking and convenient check-in, through the dinner reservations made by our hostess.

Our rooms were lovely, with their soft decorations and ample evidence of attention to every detail we could have imagined.

Breakfast was the perfect finish to this comfortable and relaxing stay, with delicious fruits, scones, french toast, a fruit smoothie and coffee.

It was an excellent value and a memorable stay.

  • Liked — Clean and lovely decor of every room in the inn
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coquille8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    25
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
174
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Very clean, charming inn and well-located. Nice details in the room that don't overcrowd it and small flat screen TVs. But definitely stay here for the fabulous four-course breakfast cooked from scratch each morning by the innkeepers. Breakfast had delicately prepared fruit, a yummy melt-in-your-mouth muffin or gooey warm bread danish that's not too sweet and not too heavy, followed by a refreshing fruit smoothie, and a scrumptious egg or bread dish that has fresh balanced ingredients and textures. Welcoming and not too intimidating for the less demanding diner, but definitely satisfying for the foodie! Breakfast will keep you going for a long time while exploring the coastline.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cUb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

The Innkeepers, Debbie and Nick are a delight. The room (we were in #8) was great, beautifully decorated, super clean, comfortable bed and linens, very nice bathroom with plenty of big fluffy towels, flat screen t.v. and on the first floor. We stayed two nights and were served the most delicious gourmet breakfasts each morning! This is a several course event and Debbie takes great care to please the palates of her guests. All we have are praises for the results of her efforts! The location is perfect with the center of town being a brief walk which we enjoyed both during the day and after dinner. We live in the Blue Ridge mountains in n
north Georgia and would definitely return to Seven South Street Inn!

  • Liked — Debbie's cooking and the room!
  • Disliked — That we only had two nights there!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NMNCCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Seven South Street Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was very clean, the bathroom looked like new, and the price was very reasonable, especially as it included breakfast. There was off street parking right next to the Inn. Although typically (for a bed and breakfast) cozy, the room had everything we needed, even a flat panel TV on the wall, and was nicely and comfortably furnished. The breakfasts were incredible. The hostess is a gourmet cook, and each morning she presented us with an amazing feast. The Inn is located a pleasant walking distance (about 10 minutes) from the center of Rockport. It was our first time at Seven South, and we would definitely recommend it to our friends. The next time we go to Rockport we'll certainly stay at the Seven South Street Inn.
L. Clar

  • Liked — friendliness of owners, amazing breakfasts, cleanliness
  • Disliked — room a little small, but understandable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We just returned from two nights at this fabulous B&B. Stayed in Room #6, the periwinkle room, which is on the top floor at the front of the inn. The room had a comfortable bed, was clean, and included helpful items such as a hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom. Each morning Debbie made a delicious breakfast, we especially liked the poached egg on a croissant with homemade Hollandaise sauce. She was great at little touches like leaving fresh flowers for each room. The B&B is a quick walk to the Bearskin Neck area with lots of shops and restaurants which is convenient since parking can be difficult.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

This was the first time we stayed here after searching the
Internet including TRIP ADVISORS. Wonderful ambience.
The room looked just like it did on the website, even better!
We were in the English Rose Room, but all others were lovely too (we peeked!) Breakfast was beyond compare every am.
My favorite were the "Fruit Smoothies" (different ones) each day.
Spotlessly clean. comfortable and the service impeccable. The owner Debbie was lovely and did everything possible to make
our stay A-One! The only problem was we stayed far too brief
a time. The next visit I'm planning a day after our return will
be a longer one! Good for a Girlfriends Getaway as well as a
Couples Spot. When you go, you'll see why you'll meet other
guests who have returned a # of times.

  • Liked — Gourmet Breakfasts and Beautifully Decorated Comfortable Rooms w/Bathroom in Every
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed at the Seven South Street Inn. I cannot say it's a five but it's solidly a 3.8. It's a cute inn that has small rooms. The breakfasts are wonderful. Internet access is available but sometimes weak or limited. Not all plugs are 3 prong so laptops, etc are an issue. If you don't care about those issues, it's a 5. In terms of value for the $$ ...not bad. If your looking for something nice and affordable, this is it. Room 7 is far superior to all the rest and our favorite.

  • Liked — Proximity to town center
  • Disliked — room size, limited internet access, innkeepers seem tired of guests at times
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Namaste928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.8 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven South Street Inn

Property: Seven South Street Inn
Address: 7 South St, Rockport, MA 01966-1799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven South Street Inn is more than just a Massachusetts Bed and Breakfast. We are one of Massachusetts' best Bed and Breakfasts. When you're with us, you will get the best of both worlds: You'll feel as comfortable as you do at home, while at the same time our attention, first-rate cooking and cozy accommodations will make you feel like you've woken up into the best kind of dream imaginable.When you stay with us, you will be enveloped by our warm, friendly atmosphere. Our grounds are quiet private – there is always a little nook in which to curl up with someone you love, or to spend some quality "you time" with a good book. For relief from the heat of summer, we offer a swimming pool, and if you want to venture away from our grounds during your stay in Massachusetts, we would be happy to make a reservation for you for one of the many car and boat tours available in the area as well as other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven South Street Hotel Rockport
7 South Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing