We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, Paradise on earth!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eagle House Beachside
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I was in the Peg Leg Rockport with my mom. I was 1 year in US as as aupair and my mom visited me in my last month. We are from germany. We bookes 1 or 2 night in advence and we stay all in all 5 nights. It was wonderful. We can highly recomend it and would always go there again. It is lovely there and we enjoyed every minute. Breakfast and room was perfect and service exelent.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraUndine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Eagle House Beachside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed here only because our usual hotel was booked, and we were making the arrangements last minute.

The inkeeper was fairly pleasant (even though she was more concerned with whatever she was cooking - which smelled awful - than helping us check-in).

The rooms are nice enough. The beds were incredibly hard, and the pillows are like bricks (and weigh just about as much as one).

The location of this motel is great, but for the high price, I expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

This motel has lovely potential, as it is situated across the road from the beach, and close to the town centre. However, its a little run down, and it would be good if the bathroom door closed! The room was very clean, but for the price you pay, you'd at least expect to get a coffee in the morning. But if looking for somewhere to go for breakfast, we can recommend 'The Greenery', great food and views.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BeatNikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

I agree with the last review, the room decor is very dated, but I could live with that, and the bed was comfortable. What I found disagreeable was the musty smell that permeates the room, the fact it has no clock or radio, and that you couldn't even get a cup of coffee in the morning. The location is very good though, and I guess that is what you are paying for.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
Thank snowghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

Make sure you call FREQUENTLY to confirm your reservation (even if you aren't asked to and even if you leave a credit card number). My boyfriend and I arrived at 11:30pm on Sat. night (after being specifically told when I made the reservation that as long as I gave my credit card number in advance, I could check in at anytime). We were quite surprised when we learned that there were no rooms (even though I had just made the reservation only 5 days earlier after the motel had had a cancellation). The owner assured me this was the first time she had sent guests away, but I didn't buy her act since she was so sure she had no record of my name, credit card number or reservation in her book, but yet she never went to retrieve her book and actually LOOK in it. We were lucky enough to find a lovely couple across the street who worked for the Marriott chain, and they helped us find a room about 20 min. away. I have no idea where we would have slept had we not met them since the owner offered us NO assistance at finding an alternative location. We almost had to sleep in our SUV in the parking lot. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to someone since you could never be sure there would be a room for you when you got there. Do yourself a favor and get a room atl the Captain's Bounty across the street!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AshCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newtown, CT
23
Reviewed July 17, 2005

In spite of the previous review, we booked a night at the Peg Leg Motel and were not dissappointed. We stayed in #12 and the room was airy, clean and comfortable. We arrived at 9:30 in the morning and the owner was nice enough to let us into the room so that we had a place to change into our bathing suits and head for the beach. The central location is great, we never used the car. It's not the lap of luxury, but you're not paying luxury prices either.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2004

This is not for the Peg Leg Inn, but rather the Peg Leg Motel. They are located next to each other and from what we understand, are not affiliated with one another. The Peg Leg Inn is definately the nicer of the two places. The Motel had a comfortable bed, but that is the only good quality of the place. For $150/night, I would expect a lot more than what we got. We wore our flip flops in the room b/c without any A/C, the entire room was damp. The decor is very dated and you only get two towels. The Motel is directly across from a small beach area, but the Inn is literally two buildings down. A lot of people confuse the two and expect the Inn and get the Motel. Both are walking distance from downtown and are in great locations.
Rockport has so much to offer, but the Motel is certainly not anything to write home about.

10  Thank kirev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.1 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Beachside

Address: 10 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966-1545 (Formerly Motel Peg Leg)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $135 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Beachside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eagle House Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Beachside Hotel Rockport
Hotel Peg Leg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing