We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Brackett's Oceanview Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sweet New England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We did not call ahead and make reservations so we did not get an oceanview table. It was Saturday night so I almost expected to be turned away but we were seated almost immediately.
I ordered the clam chowder. It was flavorful but on the thin side. I like my clam chowder thick. It had a great flavor and was chock full of clams. I split a clam roll with my sister and we both loved it. The clams were crispy but tender and delicious. We each had a dessert. Mine was a caramel crème brulee. The coating on the brulee was fantastic and the dessert was nice and light. The perfect ending to the meal. Our server was excellent. She was attentive and positive. This was not my first visit to Brackett's, I've been coming for years. I consider it a hidden gem because the storefront is unimpressive and you really can't see the ocean from the front window. I highly recommend Brackett's for your next lunch or dinner in Rockport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatelaine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    79
    40
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Most clams in my chowdah!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Had clam chowder and told my husband I think this chowder has the most clams I ever have had. I had the fried clam strips and my husband had fried shrimp. You have a great choice of sides. Any place you sit in Restaurant is a great view. The service was great and food delicious. This place was recommended by the owner at the B&B (The Seafarer Inn) we were staying at and he did not steer us wrong. Rockport is a great city to visit and every time we told someone we were going to Rockport they said oh I love that place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, great view”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stopped in at Brackett's for a quick lunch this past Saturday while shopping on the wharf. As a vegetarian, there were not many options for me to choose from and when we saw something I'd eat in their menu (which was posted in the window) we decided to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise. The dining room was on the water and freshly painted in beautiful pastel colors. We were shown to a table at the window by our waitress who was very friendly and helpful. My wrap was delicious as was my husband's lobster casserole. The prices were good as well. The best surprise for us was the Beets my husband ordered as a side. They were delicious. We mentioned how good they were to the waitress and she brought us back the recipe from the Chef/Owner. We will definitely make Brackett's a stop on our next trip to Rockport!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancs
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good fish, good service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Friday evening 8pm. No reservation, but given sea view table. Friendly staff. Good choice of seafood. The better of the two choices was the baked haddock rather than the fried clams. Two sides: mash and butternut squash, plentiful and filling. No room for dessert.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious meal in Rockport”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Bracketts has delicous food, affordable prices and a view of the beautiful ocean !!The service is excellent, and the waitressess are friendly with an outstanding knowledge of the food they serve!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockport E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brackett's Oceanview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brackett's Oceanview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing