We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motif Number 1

Motif Number 1
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over rated”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was nice, but looked like every other building in the area that had been there a while. No ooohhs and aaaahhhh from me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 980dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    50
    21
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I don't know what I was expecting, but there seemed to be a whole lot of hullabaloo over this place. I was not impressed at all. But it is an historical site, and free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunMarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Probably ok if you are an artist”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ii wouldn't try to go near it in summer unless I had parked the car somewhere else. It is a nice scene but certainly I have seen marinas and boat houses just as nice. It is said to be "the" spot for painters because of the changing lights but for everyone else Ii wouldn't make a special trip

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmelarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Er, what?”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If I hadn't read other reviews, I'd probably have missed this completely! I guess this is cute, about a 5 min walk from the intersection of Main St and Bearskin neck... but I wasn't sure what the attraction was... I guess it's quintessential New England coastal town? But I prefer the slight buzz of Bearskin Neck. You can do both. I took pictures just cos it was kinda cute, but otherwise, it's just an empty house that you see from across the water.

About 2 min away from the Motif is a Tourist Information Center- it contains an OK restroom, a water cooler and a map on the wall.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Iconic to Rockport”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's the subject of so many paintings, hence the name. Blown down it's been rebuilt and remains a visual reminder of the lobster industry so long a part of the town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motif Number 1 also viewed

 
Rockport, Cape Ann
 

Been to Motif Number 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing