We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Eagle House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eagle House Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The motel is clean, everything was working. I loved to have a little kitchen area with microwave, coffeemaker and refrigerator. The room was nicely decorated - not a boring kind of chain motels rooms. Price was right - $130 mid-summer on a weekend! In a middle of everything - and in the same time on a quiet street with barely any traffic at all. I am big on outside spaces - just got to have a balcony or porch for some quiet time for myself. My room #3 shared an outside area with a bench with room #2 - and being so close to the office I was disappointed at first, but as soon as I discovered a large outside area behind the motel around the corner from my room with tables and kitchen (!!!) I was very pleased. I had the whole area for myself for a couple of evenings, just took my snacks with me (plates, glasses, running water - the outside kitchen had everything!) and enjoyed piece and quiet... There were people going by the room's window so I had to keep blinds closed at all times, but I was mostly out enjoying the lovely Rockport, so it was not a problem. Tip: if you are a coffee drinker make sure to grab coffee bags from the office ahead of time - there are no supplies of them in rooms and if you remember about it when the office is closed you are out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    64
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
58
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose Eagle House (with advice from TA ) for our annual friend summer getaway. Eagle House is perfectly located to everything in Rockport and the staff could not be kinder, more accommodating or charming. Our room was ready upon arrival and we were allowed to check in before noon. Made it easy to hit the beach for the afternoon. Gary is an excellent host: there if you need him but in no way intrusive or " hovering". Our room (#2) with two beds was on the main floor; only a few stairs. Smallish rooms but more than made up for by the location, great staff and cleanliness of our room. These rooms are comfortable and clean enough to satisfy my Grandmother and she was a clean freak! One can walk to the beach in less than five minutes. Ten minutes to the Neck and dining establishments. Galleries and shops welcoming and priced with something for everyone. In three days we did not move our car, not even once. Travel tip: no cocktail lounges or bars exist in Rockport. Restaurants have liquor licenses running from beer & wine to full cocktail licenses but one must purchase food to be allowed to be served alcohol. Maybe bring along a few toddies to keep in your room? Lovely outside areas at Eagle House that are perfect for cocktail hour! Many thanks to Gary and his wonderful staff for making our stay so very nice.
A polite reminder to fellow travelers:
A gratuity to the housekeeping staff is the right thing to do.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service. Very clean. All around excellent motel!
Bernadette was incredibly helpful when we enquired as to local restaurants. On our rainy day she had recommendations for us as to what to do.
Our room was the perfect quaint little unit that we were looking for.
Planning on returning next summer again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Though the room was small, it was just fine for a weekend getaway. The bed was comfortable, the AC worked well, the staff was very nice, parking was convenient, and the location is super. Plus, the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outremont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Two very comfortable double beds, cool bedsheets, many pillows, no rugs, a large balcony, excellent service at a good price, what more can we ask for? At a very short distance from the beach so that one does not need to use the car. Pretty shops with friendly owners, lovely bookstores and galleries, (check out Art Longwood Books!!) all in all, Rockport is an excellent destination for smart travellers, and Eagle House is highly recommendable. Don't expect to find any bars in Rockport as there are none. But the veranda at Eagle House is a nice place to have a drink and play scrabble!

Room Tip: The room closer to UU church has windows on three sides so there is no need for a/c, even on warm n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days at the beach side hotel and we lived it. The runs are so clean and beautiful. The location is just steps from front Beach.The staff is so accommodating. We are booked to go back.definitely worth the money to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kindeglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great place to stay when visiting Rockport. Gary, the guy who runs it, is super nice, and you cannot beat the location, literally 50 steps from Main Street. It's not "beachfront" but man, it's less than a football fiend from Front Beach. Rooms are clean and bright, porches are lovely to sit on, and the rates are fair. If you're coming for Rockport's great Fourth of July, this IS the place to stay. Free wi-fi and cable TV, too, for those rainy days (we had one). If you're coming up from Boston, it's easy to take the commuter rail trail line ($10 each way) from North Station to Rockport and walk here, not far even with luggage, Rockport is very small. We never bothered with a car. You can even get to/from Logan Airport in Boston if you plan and are patient: From Logan: free shuttle to blue line, blue line to Haymarket, orange line to North Station, North Station to Rockport. We loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Motel

Property: Eagle House Motel
Address: 8 Cleaves St, Rockport, MA 01966-1530
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a locally-owned and operated motel in beautiful Rockport, MA. We have 14 rooms and a guesthouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. All of our rooms have a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable, including WiFi, air conditioning, Direct TV, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and balconies. We are conveniently located just steps from Main Street, a beautiful sandy beach, art galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, and the Rockport train station! Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a relaxing and quiet place. Relax on the patio in our garden, or by your room and enjoy the peace and quiet. A combination of our fantastic downtown location, affordable rates, comfortable rooms, and helpful innkeepers makes Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse a good choice for a variety of guests! Experience the charm of Rockport from our premium location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Eagle House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Rockport
Eagle Hotel Rockport
Eagle Motel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing