We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Eagle House”
Review of Eagle House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle House Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Eagle House”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Eagle House June 27. We had never been to Rockport and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The time was made much more delightful due to the owner, Gary's, advice on where to eat, when to go to the beach, etc. He even provided towels for us to use on the beach. We stayed in the room right next to the office and it was very quiet. I kind of enjoyed being so close to the office so I could ask Gary questions about Rockport. Everything was clean and cheery and the housekeeping staff were very friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — convienient location
  • Disliked — Internet service was spotty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank utahtransplant08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    66
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
60
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We had a great stay at the Eagle House motel. It is in a great location for walks to the dining/shopping area and beach, and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The motel is very quaint and charming and does not have a "motel" feel. We originally booked two rooms, but ended up staying in the cottage, which had three bedrooms and a kitchen and turned out to be a great choice for our group which consisted of two moms and four teenagers. It was immaculate and peaceful. We had a patio out front with a picnic table, and we imagined if we had stayed longer we could have bought lobsters downtown and really enjoyed a dinner outside. We also felt like the prices were extremely reasonable and the motel was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

The Eagle House Motel in Rockport is situated a stroll away from downtown, Bearskin Neck and the beach. The structure is aging but not rundown. Parking is available (a great plus in Rockport) and the beds and bedding are wonderfully comfortable. Both heat and air conditioning function as needed. The rooms are outfitted with small refrigerators and microwaves, although the wiring probably would not support both your hairdryer (they do NOT provide those) and the microwave concurrently. Gary DellaRocco, the innkeeper, was engaging, informative and extremely helpful. As a single traveler I was very impressed with the quality of the facility, especially given the bargain price.

I highly recommend the property.

  • Liked — The quality of the bed and bedding.
  • Disliked — It is a little difficult to locate on arrival in Rockport.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights after Labor Day and were very pleased with the location and exceptional value.
The room was dated but very clean and the innkeeper was helpful.
I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llongrider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

In terms of location for the money, Eagle House Motel can't be beat. Gary, the owner, helped us settle in, made restaurant recommendations, showed us great places for walking/taking pictures on a map, and was very friendly. Don't expect luxury in the accomodations and you won't be disappointed. While the furniture was on the older side, everything was clean and the bathroom appeared to be recently updated. The motel is centrally located and it is a very quick walk to anywhere in Rockport you need to go. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Low bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LrRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Stayed in this Motel in September 07.The room was claen and comfortable and Gary the proprietor was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed for a few nights in the eagle house motel, rockport to relax and explore the surrounding.
The location is a main assett of this motel, secluded, just behind the main street, few minutes walking distance of all restaurants, shops and beach.
If possible book room nr 7, with it own porch. The room had a small bathroom with excellent shower.
Micro wave, tv, , fridge and very two comfortable beds.
On top it comes with a very helpfull owner, Garry. He knows Rockport in and out, and gave us lots of advise what to do.
Price / Quality excellent.

  • Liked — price / quality
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Motel

Property: Eagle House Motel
Address: 8 Cleaves St, Rockport, MA 01966-1530
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a locally-owned and operated motel in beautiful Rockport, MA. We have 14 rooms and a guesthouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. All of our rooms have a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable, including WiFi, air conditioning, Direct TV, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and balconies. We are conveniently located just steps from Main Street, a beautiful sandy beach, art galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, and the Rockport train station! Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a relaxing and quiet place. Relax on the patio in our garden, or by your room and enjoy the peace and quiet. A combination of our fantastic downtown location, affordable rates, comfortable rooms, and helpful innkeepers makes Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse a good choice for a variety of guests! Experience the charm of Rockport from our premium location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eagle House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Rockport
Eagle Hotel Rockport
Eagle Motel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing