We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & Accomodations in the heart of downtown”
Review of Eagle House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eagle House Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed 4 nights back in December when it was off season & the owner Gaty remembered me from a previous stay at the Eagle House Beachside, Gary was not there when I arrived but had left my room keys in a hiding place and a welcome note with phone numbers in the event I needed anything that evening.The following morning I saw gary and took care of the bill for my stay and was asked if I slept well and that his assistant would be around the property if I needed anything at all.PARKING IS A DREAM you are just a short walk up the hill from the middle of Man Street and all of the shops, art gallery's,dining.In high season I would probably leave my car parked for the duration due to it's close proximity to the beach and everything you need.The rooms all have mini fridges and microwaves should you have the need for a midnight snack.The rooms have such a nice fresh summer feel to them and housekeeping does an immaculate job.I'm planning on returning next month for a few days.During the winter months you may have to drive to Gloucester for dinner but being able to sit out on the deck listening to the waves lapping up against the granite rocks and the salt air combined with the gentle wind chimes at a nearby home is so peaceful you just might fall asleep sitting outdoors even during the winter.

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb to get to any of the rooms so if you have mobility issues request the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailsbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Visiting old friends in thye Rockport area and spent the night here. Family run bussiness the room was ok. Not having stayed at private hotels in a long time not sure how this one would rate. It was clean location was good, coffee maker in room, cable tv. No pool hot tub or breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daylate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night while traveling with a parent. The motel is located on a quiet street. A quick walk downhill brings you to the Main Street and beach. We had a comfortable and clean room with a very small bathroom. The innkeeper was very friendly and chatty, and offered suggestions on what to do and see while in town. We'd stay here again, but might try their beach view property, just down the road.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Moura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at our recent stay at Eagle House. We were skeptical about it's location, but we found it very convenient. We could easily walk to Back Beach, Front Beach, Bearskin Neck, and all of our favorite restaurants. We were especially pleased with our room. We intentionally booked a small room because of its location and its private deck. The room was very quiet, the decor bright and inviting, the storeage subtantial, and it was immaculate. I especially liked the laminate flooring. There was no wondering what was hidden in carpeting. We also were impressed with all out the outdoor deck space with plenty of tables and chairs and coffee available as well as dishes for indiviual use. Although we've previously stayed where we had an ocean view, I think the Cleaves Street location trumps the oceanview. We wouldn't hesitate to book a room there again. Thanks, Gary, for providing such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had the good fortune to book this hotel..Altho built in the 50's the decor is fabulous.So used to typical beach front rooms that are dark and musty ..this was a great surprise...The newly decorated rooms are stunning and immaculate...Bathrooms a little small but minor in scope of all that was wonderful....Gary the owner handled my reservation with charm and grace....We loved staying here and will be back as soon as possible...Charming little cemetery abuts with wonderful bits of history..and a one minute walk to the beach....Coffee ready in the morning..What more could one want?????????.

Room Tip: Talk to Gary...They have 2 locations and after chatting with him we picked the one close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed in the Eagle House rental house. It exceeded our expectations, especially considering we are a family of five. The house is very clean and well maintained. It's proximity to Bearskin Neck and Front Beach make it a perfect location. The staff and owner were very welcoming and accommodating. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank googoodoll5218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were in Rockport for a wedding. We spent Friday and Saturday night at the Eagle House. The location is superb - less than a block from the main drag in Rockport. It was clear our room had recently been painted. It was very clean. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but the shower had great water pressure. Having a microwave and decent sized mini-fridge was a huge plus. We had a corner room on the 2nd level and did not hear any noise from the church next door (having the A/C on probably helped a little with that). The only negative comment I have was that housekeeping emptied our trash but never remade our bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessd37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Beachside
Eagle House Beachside
#5 of 6 in Rockport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Motel

Address: 8 Cleaves St, Rockport, MA 01966-1530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $117 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a locally-owned and operated motel in beautiful Rockport, MA. We have 14 rooms and a guesthouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. All of our rooms have a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable, including WiFi, air conditioning, Direct TV, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and balconies. We are conveniently located just steps from Main Street, a beautiful sandy beach, art galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, and the Rockport train station! Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a relaxing and quiet place. Relax on the patio in our garden, or by your room and enjoy the peace and quiet. A combination of our fantastic downtown location, affordable rates, comfortable rooms, and helpful innkeepers makes Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse a good choice for a variety of guests! Experience the charm of Rockport from our premium location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eagle House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Rockport
Eagle Hotel Rockport
Eagle Motel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing