We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Loving photography this location was a dream for me. The room was great and the owner could not do enough to help. He even offered to drive to the next town so we could follow him to a restaurant we wanted to visit. The view from our room was amazing and hearing the waves was so relaxing. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: The king rooms are the biggest but the others are not much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    91
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
117
270
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a night at Bearskin Neck Lodge because of the location, view and generally great reviews here on Tripadvisor. We were a bit disappointed though. Yes, the location is beautiful and the view amazing, but for the price, the room was very mediocre. Ours was very small, which is fine, but a little shabby and musty - we are definitely not "fancy" travelers, and if the room cost say, $125, we would have had no complaints. (We were warned that our room, the last one available, was extra small - but then the price for that one should be adjusted accordingly.) For $200, we definitely expect more. And while it seems great having a balcony overlooking the ocean right outside your door, it's a shared balcony, with people walking by your door/window all the time - which means you have to keep your curtains drawn and door closed. So what's the point of the view? Since all the rooms on the ground floor (except ours) have access both from the roadside, and the balcony side, they should really put up dividers - even just rope - on the balcony to separate guests' sections. That way each room could enjoy the balcony, but people wouldn't be walking past other guests' rooms.

The staff was very nice and helpful, and overall we would have enjoyed our stay much more, if it was a better value, and if there was a way to enjoy the view and still have some privacy.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the small room on the ground floor (can't remember the number) - and in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giantsquid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
I am glad to hear you enjoyed Rockport! I am sorry if your stay with us was not as you were expecting. We do have one smaller European style room here at the hotel and we let each guest know, before they book, that is our smaller (and cozier) room. Over the winter of 2014 we updated all of the room with fresh paint, new lighting fixtures, new pictures, and furniture. Many of our guests staying for the 2014 season have already commented on how much they love the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The owners of Bearskin Neck Lodge are extremely friendly and accommodating. I believe they live right next to the lodge. Our room was very comfortable and overlooked the cove. All of the shops and restaurants in Rockport are a very easy walk from the lodge. You go right by "Motif #1" to/from the lodge. The road along Bearskin Neck is a bit small, but don't worry, your vehicle will fit through.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWHorstmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed this past weekend from Friday through Sunday. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The views from the room were absolutely gorgeous. If you want to be near the shops this is the place to stay. But make sure before you head out to shop you stop in the office to say hi to Zoe and have a cup of complimentary coffee, tea or hot chocolate!! Not only are you feet from the action but you have parking, which can be difficult to find! Rooms are very clean and comfortable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at Bearskin Neck because it received such wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. It really depends what you are looking for. I'm surprised by some of the reviews saying that the rooms were updated. If you don't mind the "rustic" look and minimal amenities, this is the place for you. You can sit on the deck and watch the ocean. The room itself did not look updated at all except for the television. I've grown used to a few more creature comforts when I travel. I'm from out of state and not sure that they get many travelers in September. A lot of the shops closed early. I did enjoy some wonderful seafood at a local restaurant recommended by the staff. I'm an artist, so many many photo opportunities lie in the immediate area. The views are a m a z i n g!

Room Tip: TIP: There is no elevator and I stayed on the second floor. I am from the west and had a heavy sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingwgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello,

I am sorry you were not satisfied with your room. As of April 2013 the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge has new owners. I am proud to say that over the 2014 winter season, each one of our rooms has been redone. Some of our updates include fresh paint, new furniture, new lighting, new pictures, hair dryers, and alarm clocks in every room. We hope you consider staying with us in the future. Feel free to check out our updated rooms under management photos here on tripadvisor or on our website.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel NY
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A perfect location with a breath of fresh air, that’s what Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, is to me.
I’ve been going to Rockport for the past 30 years; we have spent the last 15 years at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge. The upgrades and changes were a welcomed surprise; it’s warming to know this perfect location will be pampered and perfected next year. Best of luck and health to the new owners.
Debbie

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just stayed at Bearskin Neck - the most perfect location to stay with my Washington Daughter in law. The waves were lapping the rocks right under our deck. This place is true New England! The new owner - is so caring, knowledgeable about the area and restaurants. The rooms are small, but have new mattresses and air. We even asked about renting all the rooms for upcoming wedding guests to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have same view. Parking is hard to find in Rockport. With this motel, you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
335 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
216 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Property: Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing