We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The view from all the rooms is breathtaking. Nice people own & operate the facility. They recommended restaurants that proved to be good. Complimentary coffee & tea offered in lobby every morning. Walking distance to all shops & galleries. I

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bluegrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 533 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

As others have said, this is not a luxurious hotel - there is an old-timey feel to it which is okay but we could hear everything going on in the next room and the beds were uncomfortable. Nevertheless, being on the water makes up for this and we could hear the the sound of the waves all night, which is so relaxing. The owner was extremely nice and helpful, and it was great to have parking right on Bearskin Neck, where parking is very scarce. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This little motel is under new management and what an improvement from our last stay. Each unit now has AC. The motel owners are very helpful and make you feel welcome. Parking is free and your space is saved for your return should you venture out for the day. The view from every room is fabulous. You are right on the ocean at almost the tip of the Neck. I highly recommend that you try it out. Don't expect a luxurious spa type hotel. It is a small, neat and clean seaside motel with that old New England charm which will take you back in time! A true New England seaside experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Linda and I were looking for a quick getaway. Rockport was a destination we had considered, but had not found the right time to go. Checking with Trip Advisor we found the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge. A call to a very pleasant owner and our over night stay was planned. Upon an early arrival we filled out the usual paperwork and parked our car in a well appreciated private space. Parking is hard to come by in downtown Rockport. The owner was super and the room a delight. We look forward to our next visit and some new memories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joefenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We saw their vacancy sign as we were shopping downtown Rockport. On a whim, we checked on availability and prices. The new owner gave us the low season rate (5 days early).
The room was clean, spacious and the balcony was right on the ocean. We spent a few hours on the balcony relaxing, listening to the ocean and getting to know our adjoining neighbors who were also enjoying the view.There's plenty to like.
The owner also told us they were planning on updating the rooms during the off season. If we come back to the area, we would definitely check in here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msnibben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Two couples happened upon this great eight room motor lodge and were fortunate enough to get the last two rooms available. The owner was very personable. She showed us the rooms before we paid. While the rooms and the facility are older, they are spotless and well maintained. The owners obviously take great pride in their little slice of heaven. The previous reviews are "spot on" in terms of views and the area around the motor lodge. This is not a "chain" hotel and doesn't have every amenity that you would expect in a Hilton or Marriott but it's a pleasant place to stay and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank symsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We found the lodge online when planning a last minute trip the last weekend in August. The owner was great on the phone, moving some people around to give us five days straight. The owners are wonderful and the pictures online are just what you get. It felt like a throwback to the fifties with the focus being on the experience. We were hardly ever in our room, which was clean and met our needs. The views are great; the location could not be better. We had great parking in a town with limited parking, You can choose just to walk around town, follow the various hiking trails, shop, eat in a variety of restaurants, go to the many very good art galleries, even one next door and never move your car. It's also an easy and short drive to Salem, Gloucester, Essex and other interesting places. I highly recommend staying here, but word to the wise: we arrived on a Sunday and thought our directions were wrong -- we couldn't believe that we were driving on a road filled with pedestrians. It really is the road!

A note to Trip Advisor: You should take down the bad reviews that were written before the new owners took over.

Room Tip: We liked room 5, first one up the steps -- great view, great cross breezes. It was surprising how q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#6 of 6 in Rockport
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $160 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing