We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Priceless view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at the lodge and loved it. Perfect base for visiting waterfront Rockport for a person with some disabilities. Could easily pop out to eat and be a tourist shopping at the cute local stores without dealing with a car. Then, could rest on our waterfront porch and watch the ocean. Convenient. Comfortable. And, we could see the famouse Rockport July 4 bonfire from our deck. Location. View. And nice hosts. Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    82
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
232
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Friends had recommended this spot to us to stay. I was amazed at the location it's set right on the ocean with a beautiful views from the balcony. Rooms are very clean, and the owners are helpful and accomidating!!! Right outside is amazing shopping, restaurants, art....and yes of course the beach!!! Lots of activities to do or just simply relax and take in the view. We just wish we didn't have to leave! Looking forward to a return trip and I have already recommended the bearskin to friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirPip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a gem of a place! Can't believe some people found cause to moan. Situated right at the top of the 'neck', it's peaceful and comfortable. Who needs a fancy room when you have a such a view AND a balcony to sit on to admire it? The bathroom functioned, the bed was comfortable, more pillows and blankets were available if necessary and free parking was right outside, a definite bonus in Rockport! Charming town, lovely friendly people and great hosts. I'd definitely recommend The Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge. (I accidentally checked the pool and the restaurant options, neither which exist, please ignore!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not new, tarted up or cookie cutter. Only 8 rooms all with Oceanside walkway seating. Only thing is, anybody sitting outside has to stand up to let others pass, it's so narrow; but hanging over the breakwater. Town is dry, alcoholwise; probably makes it nicer; but still a bustling artsy craftsy New Ageish vibe. For food, go to Gloucester instead. Major mansions on the ocean; ok to drive on private roads despite signs. Room had brand new bedding and thick towels; very impressed, esp. since the furniture is old and has been scrubbed clean for so long it looks its age; new mattresses too.

Room Tip: Room 8 upstairs has extra side window toward town; Room 5 has same toward next house and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry_Mattachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge in Rockport, Massachusetts served as an overnight unexpected stay for a friend and I. This charming motor lodge by the sea has spectacular views, is right on the ocean, and has a warm and friendly atmosphere by the recently new owners of the lodge. The rooms are spotless and immensely clean as well as the overall grounds. I recommend this establishment highly for a overnight stay or making it a great get away retreat. Either way you are sure to wake up hearing the waves crash under the rocks below your room or watch an amazing sunset off the porch. Already booked a weekend stay in August!!

Room Tip: Room #8 is said to be the best room as it is located in the far corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kota Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bear Skin Neck Motor Lodge and WOW what an improvement since our last visit! The new owners have clearly worked hard to freshen up the place! The rooms are IMMACULATELY clean, the views from the balcony are spectacular and in my opinion there is no lodging more convienent in Rockport to access the shops, restaurants, etc. Our two young daughters were greeted each morning by the owner and they loved going into the office to buy a water or soda just because the owners were so friendly and welcoming.
We have enjoyed coming to Rockport for years, however these new owners have created such a welcoming and enjoyable business that we will be coming 3-4 times a year now instead of just once (although I would guess that as word gets out about the great changes I will have to make my reservations in advance!)
Whether you are looking for a romantic weekend away or a family lodging spot this would be my #1 recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been coming here for twenty years, through good times and, more recently, not as good times. I stayed this weekend and was thrilled to meet the new owner. Really gracious and it makes all the difference in the world. This is a ber bones place, being all about the location which is perfect. It has been 1950's style interior design-wise, but the new owner is fixing/cleaning up the rooms, one at a time. there are new tvs and even free wifi. And, he is NICE. What an improvement since the last time I visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Property: Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing